why go by train?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nelson
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Nelson to San Diego

from Nelson to Spokane by car.Spokane to San Diego by Amtrack Train.

As I make my plans to head south, I have been asked a few times "Why are you going by train? It would be much faster to go by plane." Yes, it would be faster, but getting there fast is not what I want. Once I don my pack and head out the door, I am officially on my journey. Isn't there some kind of saying that goes..."it's not the destination that's important, it is the journey itself." After these last few years of working hard and going to school, I really crave the experience of sitting back and watching the scenery change from one end of the continent to the other. I envision the stress just dropping off with each mile that rolls by under my feet. I have travelled by plane before. It feels like jumping into a time machine that launches you into another place and time, with no adjustment period. There is also something about train travel that just seems downright romantic, even if I will be sitting in the same seat for over thirty hours! I'll let you all know how I feel about it afterwards!
chau, Netty.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb