Bad advice + no map


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nelson
July 28th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hitched out of Kamloops after getting a ride to the highway early in the morning, took me 3 hours to get a ride but eventually got picked up by a cool guy who was with his wife, listened to some metal. He gave me some bad advice on how to get to Nelson and I didn't have a map so I trusted him, turned out he gave me really bad advice and I ended up having to stay the night in a town called Invermere.

It was a very snooty town, apparently it's the closest town to a REALLY REALLY big ski field that just got the go ahead. I saw a poster there for this peace music evening called "Pinestock" so I went along, figured I'd meet some cool people and find somewhere to stay. I felt sooooo out of place, it was all older middle class people with all seats set up, no dance floor or nothing, and the people playing songs didn't have much to do with peace, there was one guy who sung a very good song about how fucked up organised religion is though. I didn't end up meeting anyone there who offered me a place to stay just a lot of people saying how nice NZ was.

I went over to the lake which is just across the road and sat down thinking I'd be sleeping somewhere there for the night (it was getting dark) and then this random women came up to me and we got talking and she offered that I could sleep on her couch :D Her flat mates were real cool, they gave me a ride to the highway the next morning.

My first ride the next day were some first nations people, they weren't even going the way I was going, but decided to turn around pick me up and take me some of the way where I was going, I had some really good conversations with them about how things are in Canada, they also told me about the stone that someone had given me in Seattle and what it meant.

Eventually I made it to Nelson and again thanks to couchsurfing.com (I'm really starting to love that site) scored myself a place to stay where I am now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb