Of Birds, Furnishings and Daily Life


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nanaimo
April 25th 2015
Published: April 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

My first Saturday on this land locked strip of granite and vegetation: locate the guitar store. While parking, I noticed a shadow in the sky. Here is a photo of the eagle - a more powerful lens would make it look less of a spec. You'll have to take my word for it that this was a bald eagle.

Next stop was shopping for supplies. This turkey looked very enticing but the price! $70 for a turkey? I'm used to the sale price of $13. That's quite a difference. Double check the photo and you'll see that this is also a bald turkey.

I found a sofa for the apartment. I really like the colour! What do you think? Just around the corner is a bicycle coop. For $10/hr you can take any of their donated bikes and refurbish them yourself. I haven't done bike repairs in years! And I just love the idea of a coop.

For those interested in manga, I found the local manga store. Not a very good selection, but quite a few favourites.

Last stop: the public library. I applied for my card, but she wouldn't give it to me. Why? Because I don't have ID with a valid Nanaimo address! She let me photograph it, but she had to mail it to me. Once I receive it in the mail, and return to the library with it, then I will be an official library card holder.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb