Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kelowna
August 17th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Phew!



At last we have reached the main focus of our holiday in North America as we arrived safely in Kelowna, British Columbia. The jorney up yeaterday took about 7 hours but included a couple of stops, the main one ina place called Hope - no sign of Bob anywhere - but we did have a picnic beside a beautiful mountain lake, it was stunning and we began to appreciate the beauties of Canada after the busyness of Vancouver.

We drove up through the mountains and eventually reached Kelowna and had a happy reunion with Lyndon, Laura and the kids, Charlotte, Jamieson and Jacob. We had a BBQ in their backyard - looked like a garden to me?- and then made our way to the cabin we are staying in this week.

Then disaster struck!

Just as we left Lyndon and Laura's, as I was feeling good about driving this car which had its steering wheel on the wrong side , the police got me!(I am sure it was a 'second' the car hire company bought on the cheap!! - I drove a similar one in Italy a couple of years ago and spent two weeks banging my hand against the inside of the door trying to change gear, only to find the gearstick had been put on the wrong side as well!!) This one is automatic...very smooth.

As I drove away from the house at the next junction a police car drew up behind me. I turned left and saw a sign 30km/hr max...So I went 30 which is very slow indeed (even for me!). Anyway on went the flashing blue lights so I stopped and got out. This voice screamed at me.."Get back in the car!!! So I did..quite quickly actually! He walked up and asked if I owned the car and where I was going. He then said "Why are you going so slow sir!!' Why does evryone always say that to me!!. When I explained about the sign he laughed and said that was only when the kids were in the nearby school. He gave me directions to our place and wished me well.
I drove off shaking with Boo a quivering wreck beside me...and we reached our cabin at a respectable 50 k.p.h. More news later

Advertisement



17th August 2009

haha
keep the stories coming, i wish i could have seen you being pulled over!!!went to see nan today-she is doing fine. asled me haw terry was doing!!!! haha

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb