At last Big White is open and we can ski...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kelowna » Big White
November 30th 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Started the day chatting to family, then we headed off to central reservations.

Today was my first day of skiing lessons. Claire came with me to point me in the right direction as I'd never even had a pair of ski boots on my feet before. To start I had to fill out a hire form, they wanted to know all my vital statistics, the cheek of it, I soon realised it as for a good reason. Claire contiuned to hold my hand every step of the way, which I was very grateful of, she also took the opportunity to play David Bailey with my camera.

I had my feet measured, ski boots selected, now I just had to put them on!!! not quite so easy, but I got there. OMG they were heavy and I walked like a pregnant duck in them, which amused Claire all day. Then came the measuring for the skis and poles, all very technical I thought but I know that these lads know what they were doing. Now armed with all the gear I not only looked the parted, I started to feel the part, all I had to do was actually learn to ski and I was under no illusion about how hard I would find it. Strength and endurance is my thing, not balance and co-ordination but I as I already knew you need to have all of these to be totally fit, so with that in mind I thought in for a penny, in for a pound, there's no going backing now.

Claire quickly grabbed a coffee and breakfast for us as we'd ran out of time at the condo (ooo, get me I know all the technical terms). After breakfast I happily waited for my ski instructor. It was soon aparent that I was in a group of four and our instructor was called Noona ( I'm sure that's not his real name). Well after 2 hours of instruction I had learn't to stand up, move and stop. Sounds good? ummm, would be if I could remember how to do it! However it didnt stop me being proud of myself!

After lunch, which Claire was late for after an eventful morning, I headed back out to the meeting place. I was already aware that Noona couldn't be my instructor this afternoon as we'd chatted earlier - personalily I thought it was his loss. I was allocated what I considered to be one of the best instructors on the mountain. I knew I was in trouble when Claire announced to her on my behalf what I did as a job and what I put my clients through!!! For those reading who I train you'll be pleased to know this was serious pay back time. Andrea was fantastic, the belief I didn't have in myself she had for me. I seem to be taking in what she was saying but had huge trouble putting it into practice. I had a great afternoon but felt that I was never in a million years ever gonna be able to ski on my own, but that didn't bother me, tomorrow was another day....

I meet up with Claire who had been skiing herself. She'd swooped down the mountain on her own and took some great pictures. Claire decided that we would ski back to the condo, now that was fun! I couldn't remember how to stop or anything so although the pictures look like I know what I'm doing actually I didn't. Claire was very kind and didn't take pictures of
Confused!Confused!Confused!

Yes Tania they are ski poles
me on my arse which was at least 3 times on a 2 minute run. The only way I could stop was for me to fall down so in fairness to me it was a kind of controled fall


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Tania skiingTania skiing
Tania skiing

still standing...
Tania SkiingTania Skiing
Tania Skiing

A few seconds later I was on my bottom!


3rd December 2007

YAY!!!
WOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO TARNIA!!!!! you look really good, bet you was having lots of fun :) you will be a pro in no time we'll see you tomorrow love lucy mike and josh xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb