Left Turn at Kamloops


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
April 18th 2015
Published: April 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I woke in Hinton to this pickup truck blocking my escape. On previous days I would not have known how to drive away. But with my new found skill in backing up with trailers, it was easily done.



The drive downhill from Hinton was enjoyable as you can see from the photo of the elk at Jasper and this photo of Clearwater. As soon as I was below 300m, the trees became deciduous and began leafing out. Very enjoyable.



Very enjoyable, that is, until I reached Kamloops. Apparently, the last time I went through these parts there was only one highway - downhill to Hope. Unfortunately, I turned left and ended up on the Coquihalla, which turned out to be a massive climb to 1400m. I kept a watchful eye on the spedometer (never less than 35km/h), the tachometer (never more than 4,500rpm), the fuel gauge (never less than half) and the temperature gauge (rock-steady at 85C). After several more drops and ascents, I swore I would never come this way again. Too much grief! Especially on the final descent with the Audis and the BMWs believing they were on the autobahn.



The longest single-day drive is over now and I'm happily ensconced at the hotel, fed and watered. It's nice to see a hotel decorated in Ikea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb