Ice Fields,me and Geology 101


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
May 25th 2017
Published: May 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I cannot do justice in telling you about this incredible drive. Upon leaving Banff we drove on the Ice Fields Parkway. Mountain after mountain, one more beautiful than the other enveoped us as we drove . What amazed me was info, compliments from the gypsy guide. Millions of years ago warm, shallow Waters were replete with Sea deposits to form sedimentary rocks such as shale, limestone, etc. When the Pacific plate merged with the Northwestern plate, the organic materials in the sea from these plates pushed up to form these magnificent mountains. ( I could go on about this because it brought me back to my college days; you see I took two semesters of Geology---anything NOT to take Math!).
Now I have got to tell you about the Peyto Glacier. Our book said that there is an easy (Hah) 3.8 mile round trip hike to see the 6200 foot overlook which is considered one of the best views in Canada. Well, no one in our group was interested ,except Quentin, of course. Against my better judgment, I went with him . Yes, the view was amazing, but getting there was harrowing. As we are ascended the steep incline and snow covered trail it got icier and icier and I watched with utter dismay people slipping, sliding, and falling as they came down. I must now give kudos to our fitness guru, Trower Boyd, because my balance kept me upright the whole hour of that "easy" hike. Was it worth it? Yes! Would I do it again? NO!!!!!
Our next stop was Athabasca Falls. Once again, more breathtaking views, and so, I'll let my photos do the talking.
Sorry to keep this short, but fatigue is setting in. We have been gone 16 days and have been through four times zones.
Bonne nuit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

IMG_5733IMG_5733
IMG_5733

I made it and I am looking down 6200 feet! ?


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb