Day 8 - March 7th, 2008


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woof from Wainwright:
Well, it has been a rather quiet day. As a matter of fact, I just laid around here at the house and enjoyed my extended rest!
My master took the car in for a oil and lube today and and went through the car wash.
Then he found an internet cafe where he was able to post my blog for me. The cafe has a good setup and my master was impressed with the computer store that housed it. It was really quiet a size for this little town of Wainwright.
Mom and “Pinky” (Lloyd) took my masters out for supper tonight to the Cooperative Cafe. They served a roast pork dinner. The cafe was quite full and was typical of small towns. Everybody pretty much knew each other and were visiting back and forth.
And hey, did you notice - a Wal*Mart Supercentre here in Wainwright! Wow - was my master impressed both with that fact and also the interior of the store! What a nice electronics department!!
Oh well, there is soon to be one in Waterloo/St. Jacobs area back home! It will be just as nice, I'm sure!
One interesting tidbit though - the store here has no automotive department. I think that might be because they are located immediately next door to a brand new Canadian Tire store.
Also this afternoon we had a break at the Little Haven Emporium - an up-scale coffee shop. This was a place we first contacted when planning our trip, as they advertised a wi-fi connection. But due to abuse, they had discontinued it. A nice little shop for things, a little different - but great for gifts.
Tomorrow my masters will do a little more touring around.
Me? I will probably just get to lay around some more here at home. One nice thing about that is the floors are all carpeted!! Cooommmmfffforrrtttaaabbbllleee!!
Saturday my masters are planning a trip to Edmonton - they want to see West Edmonton Mall and the Rexall Centre (home of the Edmonton Oilers). Also they will meet up with Cec and Betty, who Eric and Pat went to Florida with the first year they were married! Betty and Pat taught together in Lively and Cec worked in the computer department at Laurentian University in Sudbury! Neat connection again!
Well, until tomorrow and we see what there might be to share with you.
Bow-wow for now!
Benji
P.S. While my masters and I are enjoying beautiful sunny weather with 8C for our high temperatures, we feel badly for you folk back home who are going through severe winter weather. We hope and pray you will all be safe.
P.P.S. While my master has already changed his watch and the car clock ahead one hour, just a reminder to you all to do that tomorrow! Hmmm - will that mean I will lose an hour of my snooze time?
P.P.P.S. Also my masters are gong to Edmonton tomorrow (Saturday), and will not be able to get to the wi-fi cafe, and then it is also closed on Sunday, so there may not be another blog entry until Monday. They are gong to take the 'puter with them on Saturday in case, they happen to stop somewhere, in or near a wi-fi zone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb