Birthdays, Condos and another Summer in AB


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Stony Plain
September 25th 2014
Published: September 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, here I sit on September 1st, trying to convince myself that summer is not over. Who am I kidding, it was over about 10 days ago, when a friend of mine conveniently pointed out the fallen leaves on our afternoon walk. To which I called him a foul name and told him he was on crack. D.E.N.I.A.L. Let's be honest here; I live in Alberta, Canada, and while it is one of the best places on earth to be a citizen of, our weather is not, well, tropical by any standards. Sigh. good thing I love my friends SO much!





So here I sit in my brand new condo, that I *OWN*! I finally grew up at the tender age of 42 (best year ever) and bought a condo. I might have had a birthday since then, but I've decided the magical year for me is 42 (the answer to the life, the universe and everything) so I'm staying there. To hell with the ## anniversary of my 19th birthday; I've matured:-) It's small, it's cozy, I'm surrounded by 'older' individuals (18+ building took on a whole new meaning once I moved in - let's just say I'm one of the few who doesn't need a motor to get around) but it's mine! I no longer sing along in bed to the karaoke from the gay bar across the street on Wednesday's and Sundays (I am women, hear me roar), listen to the boom, boom, boom of the physically inadequate males of the world who make it up with sub woofers, or tread through dust from Jasper Ave on my parquet floor despite me cleaning it repeatedly.





Zigmar and I now listen to birds chirping, wind rusting through the grass and trees of our yard in our condo complex, and the occasional shuffle of my neighbors out for their daily parking lot constitution. I've learned that some retired individuals have nothing better to do then stare at the new 'young' lady who moved in, wondering if I'm going to be quite. Lord knows I've seen enough micro-managing notices in the building (wipe your feet, take your garbage out, don't use your key to pull open the door, this is *your* home....). Sigh. It's everything I can do to not make a comment about it, and considering my friends who helped me move in almost got into a fist fight with a women in a motorized wheelchair with a small dog on her lap (it was all I could do to not laugh at the situation) I'm in for a learning curve of patience. But I figured if I can keep my head down for a few years, I'll outlive all of them anyway:-)





I've also discovered that home renovations are not really my specialty; based on my recent facebook post you will understand:

Huge learning curve for me this weekend doing home renos. While fun, also challenging. Top 3 take away's for me:
- Paint Spills (no matter how careful you are)
- always know where your boobs are (especially painting walls perpendicular)
- hugging the toilet bowl takes on a whole new meaning in home reno's
Best thing I've learned is that this is not my forte. So I'm going back to skydiving!
In the mean time I'm taking applications for a Cabana Boy with talent. Remuneration based on experience and technique.

'Nuff said.



And I just realized that I lost like 4 paragraphs
Best Birthday PresentBest Birthday PresentBest Birthday Present

Puerto Rician Coffee and 5 birthday cards!
of my blog to the abyss of the interweb. crap. It's Ned's World, who am I kidding. Now what was I saying?





My birthday fell on a Tuesday this year, so while not the most exciting day of the week to have a Day of Birth; it was filled with facebook messages, emails, texts, phone calls full of well wishes from friends and family. Plus I was blessed with 2 visits from best friends, once as close as Devon, the other from South Africa. A girl can't complain at all! A post birthday party a few weeks later in Calgary courtesy of Selena, Kim and Maya with homemade chocolate cake and sun and delicious Thai wraps was perfect! Then I came home to a very belated present that was probably one of the best. ever. I've received. Aside from the amazing Puerto Rican Coffee (and those of you who know me and/or read my blog know I am a coffee whore), it came with not 1 but 5 birthday cards. And most of them made me LOL for real; as not only where they funny, they were also reminders of people I know. And the
Birthday card #1Birthday card #1Birthday card #1

Disregard that last call, she got in the backseat by mistake!
person who shall remain nameless for fear of retribution needed to be thanked publically for this gift as it so made my week!



My family, while far away, always remember my birthday. And thanks to a recent 'reply all' email that got carried away they discovered how much I dislike knick knacks. So in true Jurevics fashion, I received for my birthday a blue/green ceramic vase/plate circa 1960's that I'm to cherish forever as it's a family member whose passed on. Riiiiiiiiiight. It's to torture me and remind me that, no matter how far I live, they will always have the last word! (Love you!)



After my weak attempts at home renovations my focus went back to skydiving; next weekend I'm challenging my Course Facilitator Coach 1 rating. Which for you non skydivers means that I will be able to teach experienced skydivers to become coaches. Isn't that a scary concept? I've been working on this all summer, between my real job, moving, accepting a former job of Editor in Chief for the National Skydiving Magazine and trying to have a social life. It's been a very, very busy summer, and has gone by
Birthday card 2Birthday card 2Birthday card 2

Even came with pepper packets taped inside
way too fast. But they generally do in Alberta, and while I got an extra 10 days in late August that I normally don't due to work conference, I still can't believe that it's now September.



But a successful summer it was, and I'm going to squeeze every last sunny day out of it before the fall kicks in. I loved every rain drenched, mosquito bitten, 35 Celsius sweating in body parts you didn't know could sweat moment of it, and am eagery looking forward to next year already! Or Arizona in January, which ever comes first!



No trips planned as of yet, other than the Women's World Record attempt in October in California. I'm thrilled and super excited to be a part of this event, I'm optimistic that I will finally, finally get that Guiness Book of World Records piece of paper hanging in my room that says I am a World Record Holder! Fingers crossed!

Scroll down for the rest of the photos, as they do speak a 1000 words.



Happy September 1st everyone....


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Birthday Card #4Birthday Card #4
Birthday Card #4

Who says older gals can't hold their liquor?
Post Birthday PartyPost Birthday Party
Post Birthday Party

Thank you Selena, Kim and Maya! Especially for the birthday present of my fav coffee beans and wine!
Rubber Ducky you're the oneRubber Ducky you're the one
Rubber Ducky you're the one

Once I knew I had 2 bathrooms to decorate I bought more. My collection is now, well, large!
Painting sucksPainting sucks
Painting sucks

NO one said to take the tape off before the paint dries. Now taking applications for a cabana boy
paintingpainting
painting

My little helper. right.
ZigmarZigmar
Zigmar

Post celebration I can't take any more painting on the balcony with my fav man and fav drink


Tot: 0.402s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb