How Much is that Doggy in the Window?


Advertisement
Published: April 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sigh; last day. We had said farewell to Becky and Benny the night before as they had a departure transfer of 07:30. Made plans to meet with Randy and Janice at 08 for breakfast, then decided to wander around, find our new hotels (all of us had to move for our post night), search for carpets and enjoy the morning, with plans to meet Justin at 1pm for lunch in the main square.

Well, Old Town Outfitters had given me a map with the hotel marked on said map, even highlighted all pretty like. We found Randy and Janice’s hotel easily enough; other then there being 2 hotels with almost the exact same name one block apart, we knew at least *one* of those was theirs. Then came ours. Let’s just say it was a good thing there were heaps of carpets where our hotel was *supposed* to be; as we spent the next 3 hours literally wandering around in circles trying to find it. We did a square block radius walk thinking she highlighted it not exactly; we asked at other hotels (Guatemalans are ALWAYS quick to help you out with directions even if they don’t know where it is), and went back and forth and back and forth and up and down and up and down getting more frustrated as we went along. Initially it was an adventure but it became more difficult to keep our optimism as we has searched literally high and low for our hotel.

The one great thing is there were several carpets being made; and being as that was our goal that day to see them being made and take photographs were were very happy about that. Some again very intricate (see photos) some simple; but all made with love and pride and it truly showed. We came upon one where a tourist was actually pouring dyed sawdust into a stencil of a flower and admired that. Then we were offered the same opportunity (Janice and I) and we both got so into it, and worked so hard, and carefully (read: OCD) and made sure we patted it down, stayed in the lines. It was like colouring all over again but this time on a street, made with love again. I could have stayed there all day - not kidding! I finished one pedal and he handed me the white (which turned out to be powdered milk vs. sawdust) powder to fill in the centre of the flower. Finished that and he had me start on the next flower pointing rojha, verde here and here; obviously I was doing a great job! We had to go, but man it was my and Janice’s Semana Santa moment - that Elizabeth Bell said is the best way to experience it; this moment that just reaches out to you. I loved it, and had huge smile on my face, as did Janice.

Plus: there were puppies! How much is that doggy in the window.... We came across a breeder of Schitzu and this lady had a window with a small ledge and rod iron fence surrounding it full of little cute puppies dancing and licking your face and playing with each other! Turns out the mom was there, a pup from her first litter and 2 from her recent litter. Oh my word they were cute as buttons and we petted them, got licked to death by them and had even bigger smiles on our faces.

Despite not finding our hotel we had the best morning with coffee, puppies, paining a traditional Guatemalan carpet. WOW - and it wasn’t even noon yet!

Made it back to our hotel; packed up and asked the front desk to call our new hotel for directions. SO they did and pointed it out on the map with a star - several blocks away from where we originally were told it was. So then I asked her to confirm the number over the door and ask what street the door is on. So she phoned back and was given a different location. Holy DOODLE - how can the hotel not know where they are? Seriously? Reminded me of on our Elizabeth Bell tour when she warned us that Guatemalans don't 'do' address' they just know where things are. And the city has one name for the streets, and the locals have the other names, and they don't match. Suffice to say; be prepared to walk.

So we packed our backpacks on, front and back, and started wandering along. Checked first location - nope, not there Not even close. So we started walking, against the crowds going to the main square for an Easter procession which is like fighting a tidal wave, tack on our luggage and it was less than pleasant experience. Small narrow sidewalks with deep drops, cobble stone and everyone walking the opposite direction of you. I need a drink. Now please.

Were on the verge of going to look at the third location we were told the hotel was located (which was quite a ways east) and decided to go back one more block and amazingly found it. With a number 15, and we were told it was number 29. On a different avenue and a different street. Gotta love address’ in Antigua. Narrow door I almost didn’t get in, I was pretty much ready to take it down physically I was getting so frustrated, our room was not ready but we managed to leave the bags there - and at least we had the reservation which was half the concern.

Tired and sweating like a mo-fo; we wandered back to the square; picked up some peanuts (they are so good here - in the shells and roasted just right!) and found Justin and hung out. Randy and Janice got stuck behind the processing so we just waited for them, figuring that was the case and got to watch one up close and personal. This time there were even roman soldiers and gladiators too - quite the event to watch!

Finally went for lunch to the most amazing place I have ever seen! Looks like a tiny deli, with a wee sitting area behind it, and turns out it is like 2 acres (I swear!) full of paths and hidden tables in these little alcoves in the trees and flowers. Truly amazing. And very hippy and homey and the menu was bloody incredible; there were so many things I wanted to eat I literally struggled. So I opted for a blackberry smoothie with water, and a roasted red pepper hummus and avocado sandwich on fresh bread with plantain and other dried root vegetable chips. My mouth was in heaven and my tummy was even happier. AND I ordered a quinoa salad with veggies and black beans to go for dinner. BEST. RESTAURANT. I would love to own something like that one day, the atmosphere and food were unreal!

Few stops along the way; made plans to connect with Randy and Janice and share a shuttle back to the airport, and just relaxed for the rest of the evening. I love traveling but I will admit, it is tiring and I was finding myself having a hard time waking up every morning, a little bit more and more; meaning it was time to go home. We had a relaxing evening, repacking up our bags, just chilling and stretching our legs. Was good to wind down before we headed home; it had been a busy, yet wonderful and educational 2 weeks with lots of pleasant memories and new friends made!

So here I sit on my final leg of my return flight home; left my new computer charger in the hotel room (I am SUCH an idiot) writing out my blog hoping the battery will last. It’s been an incredible journey on this trip; I have seen so much and loved so much of it. Central America is a great place to visit; it is affordable, it is beautiful; it is rich in culture and heritage and so much more. G Adventures did not disappoint; Justin our CEO was simply amazing and; I'm going home fat, happy and broke:-) Kitty snuggle to commence in t-minus 5 hours:-)

SCROLL DOWN FOR MORE PHOTOS

Addendum: For those of you not aware; I wrote the last 2 entries flying home, and upon my return discovered that my 1 and a half year old kitten, Opie had fallen off the balcony from the 9th floor and did not survive. I was beyond devastated; as was my friend who was house sitting as he struggled with not telling me until I came home. It's been an incredibly emotional last week for me, and to add to that I've been in Nashville on a work conference simply trying to keep it together. I'm still very emotional; and Please forgive my last 2 blogs if they have errors as I didn't proof read them as I just don't have the heart truth be told. Once the pain has subsided a bit I am going to write a blog on Opie; not that it's travel related, but that it will hopefully help me remember him, and ease some of my grief if only a little bit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb