4,458 miles away


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lethbridge
September 6th 2015
Published: October 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The last meal The last meal The last meal

My family and I enjoying our last meal before my adventure began.
So this story is slightly long- a year long in fact, however the year has only just begun, the stories are unraveling and the memories are being built.

Let me take you back to December the 12th 2014. The day I found out it was all about to change. I had applied for a once in a life time opportunity; to study in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada for the net year and against all odds I won my place along with a fellow student who for this sake we shall call Dan.

The preparations began. Accommodation was applied for, visas were paid for, suitcases bought and endless lists created. Time quickly began to tick away and before I knew it, it was the 6th of September 2015 and I was jumping in the car and waving good bye to my old life and hello to my new.

The journey was very long, we traveled for over 36 hours, and with a lack of sleep I was a grumpy arse. We sat in Calgary airport for 12 hours waiting for our coach to take us to Lethbridge. After trawling the departures lounge more than once, the first thing that struck me was the size of everything!

Canada consumes.

So, we arrived in Lethbridge and student life began. Let me begin by saying my housemates are just fantastic and I am privileged to have them all. Dan on the other hand wasn’t initially quite so lucky and within 2 weeks he moved apartments and we found ourselves 2 floors away from one another…..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb