Lake Louise in Winter


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lake Louise
November 27th 2015
Published: December 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Mount VictoriaMount VictoriaMount Victoria

Backdrop to Lake Louise
Fragile blue air almost cracks as I walk along the stomped snow pathways. The snow tinkles like crushed glass as it is scuffed by careless boots. With sun shining on the mountain tops, the air deceives me with its crisp cold. Walking across the lake, my mind soars with the upswept trees lightly decorated with snow clumps. The tiny breeze caresses my almost-frost-bitten cheeks. Reversing direction, seeking the protection of the Chateau, I pass an exhilarated tourist who asks, only a bit in jet, "Frozen hard?!" "Well, I survived!" quip I, "and so have others, if the the footprints are to be believed." In fact a dozen or more thrilled visitors dot the lake's surface, puffy in winter gear - and these are the non-athletes. So many others are pouring exertion into snowshoeing and skiing on hidden trails.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Castle MountainCastle Mountain
Castle Mountain

On the way to Banff
Castle MountainCastle Mountain
Castle Mountain

Natural crenellations
Mist off the riverMist off the river
Mist off the river

A ghostly harbinger of winter
Lake LouiseLake Louise
Lake Louise

Frozen magical wonder
Frost crystalsFrost crystals
Frost crystals

Fragile tree decorations
Snow BlobSnow Blob
Snow Blob

Don't knock it!
Pipestone CreekPipestone Creek
Pipestone Creek

Ice forming in the frigid air
Cool blue lightCool blue light
Cool blue light

Sun is pale and low


12th May 2016

Link to Ndaba Village took me to Lake Louise in Winter.
18th May 2016

Ndaba Village
Sorry the link did not work properly. This is the correct link. http://www.travelblog.org/fred.php?id=933557 Unfortunately, I could not replicate your problem, so I am not sure of the cause. Will try to add extra precautions. Thanks for letting me know.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb