may long weekend in the mountains?? HECK YESS


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper
June 5th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

OK.

So.

Countdown to Europe Update: T minus 32 days


Important News: Chris is coming to Italy with me! Its booked, and paid for (well...it was charged, at the very least). How exciting!



Whew. Now that THATS out of the way....


Just because I'm still in Canada doesnt mean I'm not doing exciting things! because I am.


Well, I did.

I spent the May Long weekend in Jasper, Alberta with my oh-so-wilderness inclined boyfriend, Chris. It was my first time being in Jasper, not counting my trip to Marmot, because a) it was only for the day, b) I never went into the town of Jasper (and thats important!) and c)I slept as soon as I got onto the bus.

This was definately our first weekend away. I mean, we've done the weekend together thing, but that was always in the city. And he had never been anywhere that could be (even remotely) construed as touristy.

Man. He didnt know what he was getting himself into!

I am the Tourist Extraordinaire. If it werent for the fact that in less than a month I will be 19, I would definately say I'm like a Tourist Wonderwoman. And i brought my big memory card.

The four hour drive wasn't very thrilling. I looked at prairies and cows for FOUR HOURS (!) until about 45 minutes outside of Jasper National Park. Well...maybe i'm exaggerating. Once we hit Hinton (which is about an hour away from the Park) i could start to see mountains in the distance...

I hadn't launched into tourist mode yet, since there aren't many touristy things to do in a truck going 140 km/h down a flat highway.

So once we finally hit the mountains, we

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb