Passed the half way mark


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everybody, well I certainly haven't been doing this blog as much as I anticipated. We have had no internet access for the last 5 days, and even this connection is very slow, so we'll see how it goes.

We are currently in Hinton, which is about 45 mins north of Jasper. We have been having a wonderful time. Scenery has been absolutely amazing and weather on the whole has been pretty good. The RV we rented is big and rather luxurious. Certainly big enough for us all. We travelled towards the Rocky Mountains via Hope and a orchard town called Kelowna. We then headed to Golden and Banff. Gorgeous town Banff. I imagine it would be beautiful to see in Winter. So we have done all the Lakes - Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, Peyto Lake and more. Today, we drove from Lake Louise to Jasper and the scenery is really the best I think I have seen in my life. I get rather frustrated with the kids, because they spend the travelling time reading or playing gameboy. When I tell them to check out the scenery, Nathan's response is "But it's boring: snow capped trees, lake, more snow capped trees, more lakes" Kids!!! I don't want to put my head down in case I miss anything. I think I'll come back with RSI in my thumb because it is constantly around my camera. Would you believe in 2 weeks, I have already taken over 900 photos. Anyway, yesterday, we drove to the Columbia Icefield, where we actually went on a Glacier. The weather had been fine, a bit cloudy. Anyway, about 3 minutes before we were due to get off the bus, onto the Glacier, the heavens opened. It was raining, really windy and freezing. We jumped off the bus, took a few photos and got back on. I was bitterly disappointed, to get all the way onto a glacier, only to have it rain. Anyway, the guide waited for a while, as we had paid for a set time anyway and wouldn't you believe, the rain stopped and the sun came out, so we got to get out again and spend a little bit of time on the glacier. It was fantastic. Anyway, the great thing about the RV is that in the morning, we just let the kids keep sleeping and we set off with them still in bed and then they can just hop up when they feel like it. It's great.

Tomorrow, we are going on a raft trip somewhere near Jasper, which should be a lot of fun. I need to go, because it is 10.45pm.
Till next time.
Fiona.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb