mwa mwa mwaa mwaaaaaa....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Grande Prairie
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What a day What a day... Yesterday, that is!

My sunday nightshift was an interesting time.. I had a talk with my boss in the morning that essentially set me free! We have a pretty big problem at work hiring and keeping employees at the top end. It is a subject that i ask about constantly. We are being overworked, so i want a solution (though i have mine!!) that will help everyone else out. So i had a conversation that went something like this:

"Hey Bob, whats the status on hiring shift engineers? any progress? any interviews?"

"Why yes Ryan! We are interviewing a guy on tuesday and i have another guy on the line that i will hireif he wants the job"

"oh, well that's good, but what are you going to do that is goign to make these guys accept the job rather then reject it like everyone else?"

"Well, we are just going to have to do what it takes! If it takes more money, or more incentives, better benefits.. we will just have to do it, we dont really have a choice!"


"Oh ok.. well, I think that you had better take things a bit more seriously with these guys, because i am 95% sure that i am leaving in January"

"oh.. oh no, thats not good"

SHAAAAAA BAAAAAAAAM! Hell yes! Talk about liberating! I actually have more energy to make things better at work right now, because there is an end in sight and then i can leave this crazy (not good crazy) place behind me forever. What better way to leave a job then ship off to a foreign land!?!?!

Interesting morning for sure.. our conversation continued as i added a few more jabs in an attempt for management to improve some things for the guys i'll be leaving behind.. I mean, I am taking this break from my present reality, but i like who i work for, and who i work with. I dont want to leave in such a way as to make life miserable for others. I want to keep helping to improve the place until i leave..

Tonight is the continuation maybe? The big boss is back in town and talk about an inopportune time to get this news! Should make for an interesting start to my shift.

17 twelve hour shifts in the last 20 days.... 4 to go.. and my first full weekend in a month... WOOOO!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb