oooo LA LA!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Grande Prairie
October 24th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

hobo-lockerhobo-lockerhobo-locker

I'll be living out of this thing!
The preparations are ongoing, day by day I'm getting more organized. YES! MORE organized, MORE prepared, MORE frightened, MORE excited. Is this going to be awesome or what?

Today, I ordered my hobo-locker (Alone, I will gives Hobo's a good name. This will no longer be a derogatory term!). Yep, a brand spankin 35 liter Gregory backpack.


This is an excited day! I went to downtown Grande Prairie to a outdoors store called Valhalla Pure. In here, i browsed the various packs on the wall, mostly getting an idea of sizes. I tried on a much larger Gregory pack then i intended to buy, just to get the idea of the fit. WOW! very nice backpacks, the support is just incredible! The store employees and I waded our way through the gregory backpack sizer, and determined I was definitely a large.. Yep, that sounds about right! I'm a tall guy! So after spending about an hour in the store, we had one on order. SWEET! I can't wait until it arrives!

In other news, I recieved my "jag bag" the other day! It is a tough, silk sleeping bag liner that will be my full time sleeping bag in Asia! It came all the way from New Zealand for a low low price. Thank you travelindependant.info , You're certainly giving me some good advice!

I should take some time to talk about Couchsurfing. If you know me.. you have already got an earful i'm sure. Couchsurfing.com has allowed me to connect with people from all over the world. These meetings have changed my perceptions towards life in general, and inspired me to travel Asia like i am in January. Without it, i would still be in the rut that i was in before i joined.

Alright! So RUN dont walk, go to my couchsurfing profile and check this shit out:
http://www.couchsurfing.com/people/ryan2119

The official definition of couchsurfing is:

"The CouchSurfing Project is a free, Internet-based, international hospitality service, and it is currently the largest hospitality exchange network. "



Couchsurfing is, an international community of travellors that are willing to help like-minded people out. With this community, you offer a place to stay to fellow travelors that happen to be in your area. When you travel, you can request places to stay with other members! What everyone gets out of it:

An amazing social experience!

This community allows you to meet people from all kinds of walks of life. You experience the places you travel different from the typical tourist, you see the local perspective. This allows you to exchange ideas, learn about a culture firsthand; and meet amazing people.

This place has me excited, it has opened my eyes; I don't think I'll ever travel any other way.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb