Full Circle


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dear all,

Well, it's hard to believe that almost two months has come and gone, and I am once again safe and sound within the familiar walls of Edmonton.

The last few weeks of my trip were as unbelievable as all of the rest -- maybe even sweeter because I took so much out of them realizing they were the last. A quick recap of the most memorable moments:

I managed to take a trip out to the Red Canyon and the Fairy Stream, both not far from the beach town of Mui Ne. The Red Canyon was closed for the season, and so I couldn't trek in to any great distance, but it was still an amazing sight. The Fairy Stream was probably a close second to the magnificence of the sand dunes; a fresh water stream that runs all the way from inland Vietnam to the South China Sea. It was ankle deep, refreshingly cold water, and Vietnamese guides lead you through the water all the way up to a picturesque waterfall inland. There was something so calming about wading through the crystal clear water, sandy cliffs lining one bank of the stream, and lush vegetation the other.

I visited countless fishing villages; crowded, bustling stations filled with people harvesting every kind of sea creature imaginable. It is no wonder that this part of the world is so reknowned for it's sea food! And no matter how many times I saw it, I was always awed by the huge, beautiful oxen pulling the work carts behind them.

This last leg of the trip also marked the beginning of many new friendships, as I bonded with fellow travellers and coworkers over World Cup games, and learning to play pool. All in all I couldn't have asked for a better way to say goodbye to Vietnam, and end my trip.

I owe so many thanks to so many people for making the most incredible trip of my life possible. Firstly, to my brother, who, for the short time we were together, was the best travel companion I could have ever asked for. Secondly, to the hosts that opened their doors to me throughout Thailand and Vietnam, for your endless kindness, generosity, and for giving me a window into an amazing culture and world that I feel priviledged to have been a part of. I am also so greatful to all of you, for reading my blogs, and keeping in touch with me throughout my travels, through your comments, emails, and positive thoughts. It meant so much to me the entire time I was away to know that I had your support. Finally, to all of the inspiring children that I was lucky enough to meet and work with during my time away, whose blissful innocence reminded me what it means to be truly happy and content in life, and whose unfailing courage and determination has forever changed my heart. I hope that in our time together I was somehow able to give back to all of them even a shred of what they gave to me.

And so I end the travel blog, with the hopes that I will reopen this page next year with another exciting and memorable voyage out into the big wide world.

You are all in my thoughts.
With much love,
~Lisa~


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Last Thai Meal!!!Last Thai Meal!!!
Last Thai Meal!!!

Enjoying my last taste of Pad Thai in Bangkok the night I left for home.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb