Prep for Alaska


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
June 11th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Prep for AlaskaPrep for AlaskaPrep for Alaska

Getting the bike ready. It is a Suzuki V-Strom 650, which I plan on riding to South America next year.
I can't believe how fast the summer is passing. After returning from Alexis Lake I've spent a couple of weeks at the airport mostly instructing, and rode my motorcycle to Vancouver for a week. The trip down (May 10/11) was some of the coldest weather riding I have done. I was glad I had purchased an electric-heat jacket and gloves that plugs into the bike battery. There was still a lot of snow on the ground around Edson and Hinton, and I had to bypass the Coquilhalla Highway as it was snowing up there. The weather in Vancouver was unsettled, but I managed a trip up to Whistler and Pemberton with nice weather. Fortunately the weather turned nice on the Victoria Day weekend for my ride back, which I did in a group with my sisters and their husbands. As my brothers-in-law both ride bikes too, we were able to trade off driving each other's vehicles. It was not a chore for me to try driving a Porsche Boxter S and BMW Z3.

This week, my main focus is just to get ready for my trip; I depart on June 15. All sorts of things to get ready, motorcycle maintenance, shopping, and trying to pack all the things I need for a 4 week vacation into the small storage containers on my motorcycle. The trip is with the local chapter of the "Gold Wing Road Riders Association". There are 10 bikes going, with 17 people. I am a member of the GWRRA by virtue of owning a Honda Valkyrie, which I call a "Goldwing without the Tupperware".

My itinerary for the trip looks like this:

June 15, Dawson Creek
June 16, visit Bennett Dam, Ft. St. John
June 17, Ft. Nelson
June 18, Watson Lake
June 19-22, Whitehorse. Side trips to Tagish, Carcross, and Skagway
June 23, 24, Dawson City
June 25, Tok Alaska
June 26, Fairbanks
June 27, Cantwell (Denali Park)
June 28, Anchorage
June 29, Valdez
June 30, Tok Alaska
July 1, Haines Junction. At this point, I leave the group and ride alone.
July 2,3, Carcross Yukon. visit a former co-worker
July 4, Watson Lake
July 5, Iskut (Stewart Cassiar Highway)
July 6, Stewart/Hyder
July 7 onward gets a little fuzzy as I did not make reservations. Tentatively:
July 7,8,9 Prince Rupert to Prince George
July 10-13, Alexis Lake B.C.
July 14, Clearwater B.C.
July 15, Back to Edmonton


Satellite Tracking



I will be traveling with a satellite tracking device. You can follow my progress at a Web Site where the last 24 hours of position reports are shown on a map. When turned on, the tracking device posts a position every 10 minutes.

Advertisement



11th June 2008

Nice Bike :)
Good heavens you're forcing me to be high tech outside of work because I will be one watching you via satellite. I wouldn't do it, but find it very cool...
17th June 2008

Midnite Sun
Hi John, I'm sure you will be aware that the summer solstice occurs during your visit to Whitehorse. When you will be in Dawson City a couple of days later, you'll be able to see the midnite sun (if the night is clear) from a popular look-out on the mountain close to that city. Indeed, if driving about and looking north at that late hour it will be ever-present. Dad
17th June 2008

Midnight Ride
The group I am traveling with is leaving Whitehorse at midnight on the solstice for a motorcycle ride north to Braeburn Lodge to have one of their famous cinnamon buns. http://www.karo-ent.com/braeburn

Tot: 0.367s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.2429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb