Climbing on pockets


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Canmore
September 24th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We woke up to a sunny day with no fixed plans, so Jonno and I did what Jonno and I do, and returned to the scene of yesterday's awe. Marilyn and Richard went driving and walking about checking out new places as you are meant to do, Jonno and I just went and climbed up and down a bit of rock all day. I think M and R went to Banff. But I am not quite sure... memory gets hazy very quickly.

We made the mistake of trying to "warm up" on the less steep wall. While leading some 5.9 which felt substantially harder due to the fact that I lost ALL feeling in my hands, and they just felt like fat flaps of cardboard hanging at the end of my arms, I decided it was not the best place to warm up. It was COLD! The rock on that side of the Lake obviously doesn't get any sun to warm it up, so we then went straight on over to the steep stuff. It was soooooooooo much fun. Really hard work though, as it was so steep and neither of us had climbed much for a few weeks. It was a totally new type of climbing for me - I really haven't climbed much that steep before. Unfortunately we forgot to take any photo's so you just have to take my word for it that it was awesome.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Richard taking in the viewRichard taking in the view
Richard taking in the view

Out the front of our lodge


Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb