Random Stuff


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
October 5th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, why am I going travelling, you ask?
I've got nothing keeping me here. I woke up one day and realized that my life, at the moment, is boring. After a particularly stressful weekend, hosting what seemed to be an ungrateful friend, I called my mom during a panic attack. My mom managed to calm me down, and suggested that I go stay with her for awhile. I thought about it, but decided I couldn't. I had too much to leave.
And then, I spent an entire week not talking to any friends or family, cuz everyone else was too busy. And I started to ask myself 'What the hell am I staying here for?' When I got right down to it...there was only one reason that I didn't want to leave Calgary. The reason was that Danielle would be here, and I'd miss out on the fun times with her!

How did this come about?
I called Danielle, fully expecting her to say she couldn't do something like this. I said "Lets go to Australia for a year." And she said "...Okay." Now, four months later, we're leaving!
Almost right away, Thailand came into the plan. Danielle's always wanted to go there, and since we were so close, it seemed like a good idea. Then, we found a ticket that included five stopovers, for a pretty wicked price! So we decided to stay in Singapore for a week before Thailand. And THEN, we found out, that for an extra $70 on our ticket, we could stop in Japan as well, on the way home!
Danielle and I will be living with my mom in Adelaide for the first few months of our trip, since I haven't seen my mom in two and a half years, and I need more time to save money.

What do I want from this year?
I want everything. lol. I want this to be the most amazing year of my life. I want to find a place where I feel like I belong. I want to do things I never though I would, or could.

Was it hard, preparing for the trip?
No. But I guess thats because I didn't do much preparing. Still haven't done a whole lot, really. Basically, I'm getting on that plane and hoping to God everything works out.

Am I Scared?
Not as scared as I should be, thats for sure. I'm leaving with very little money in my pocket, and I may or may not come back to Calgary afterwards. 😱








Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb