Suitcases Banned! Totally!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
April 27th 2015
Published: April 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

While at a recent Sunday brunch with good friends, most of whom are well traveled and knowledgeable especially about Europe, the subject of suitcases inevitably came up with someone and that has triggered this blog entry. Even before that get together, others have shared their travel experiences concerning suitcases with us. Not to stray too far from "home" I have had the past personal experience of hauling one heavy suitcase after heavy suitcase, loaded with shopping from the US on our way back to St. Lucia at a time when we lived there. Basically, living in St. Lucia some years ago we found that availability of certain items seemed to have been a constant issue so whenever we traveled to the US in particular which was fairly regularly, we did most of our shopping there. So from experience, I know personally the drudgery of dragging these encumbrances around, arguing about excess baggage charges with a keen airline agent and of course, the standard dialogue with the grim faced Customs Officer on the other side of the counter, seeing so many suitcases. "Anything to declare, sir?", he would politely but seriously ask, one eye on the stack of bulging containers, the other searching our demeanour to detect any hint of a clue so he could throw the book at us and reap a rich bonanza for his employers, the Government. We are always happy to part with duty charges because we were always ahead of the game compared to the higher local prices and unavailability.

More than one person has told us that she could never travel without one bag being totally dedicated to make-up and other adornments. Then there are the extra clothes, and this and that. "just in case". I am told that this imperative mostly fits the fairer sex but there are men who are guilty of taking way too much luggage on holiday. In my fairly recent past, I would have been one of those. One friend of mine confessed that he and not his wife is the chief culprit.

Alas, I digress a bit. I have been trying over time to persuade my dear wife to reduce what is taken on vacation and I am happy to say that she has been most concessionary and has made a significant move towards my ultimate goal of travelling completely light. In Europe last year, we carried a knapsack each, BUT also a medium sized suitcase, the owner claiming that it also contained some of my "necessaries". Well, I have to concede that I did pack a blazer, extra shoes, shirts and a rather large case of toiletries and perhaps "a thing or two that I thought I could not do without", into her suitcase. That orange suitcase was so heavy that the weight simply ruined my already injured right shoulder (from a poor shot in tennis months before) as I tried unassisted to loft it above my head into a storage rack on a train bound from Genoa to La Spezia in Italy. I think that she had real pity on me and from sympathy birthed almost complete acceptance of the goal to cut, cut and cut even further. At this point I have to give Rick Steeves full credit as he was the one who first convinced me of the merits of travelling light and how it could be done.

The next experiment took place about a month ago during an unplanned week's visit to Florida to visit a good friend who had recently lost his wife and dear friend to us. Taking just two knapsacks, we survived and survived very well indeed.

And that for me was the coup de gras. So therefore Europe, here we come this time with two knapsacks and just one small wheeled carry-on bag and absolutely no check-in bags whatsoever!

For nearly two months! And here is how we will do it, just in case any of you are thinking along the same lines.

The big benefit - no more waiting at some airport carousel for bags. Quick pick up of the rental car. No struggling to place a suitcase in some train cabin. Easy check in to any airline and the biggie - no room for the dreaded souvenir. Peace of mind and no hassle. Ever again!

All my travel clothes are now Polyester - shirts, pants (one pair), underwear (more expensive but worth it) and socks. No more toiletries as they will be purchased in small amounts on the other side. No hair brush ether as I use the palms of my hand instead and nobody can tell the difference in how I look but who cares anyway? (Smile) As far as the quantity is concerned, I find that inevitably I always use many less items than I pack so all items have been drastically reduced. So while I shower, I wash items that need to be and they are dried overnight. Oh! One pair of comfortable shoes will suffice. That is a saving of two. No longer do I need a travelling pair, runners, sandals and a more formal set, just in case. Gonzo! I no longer need those heavy jeans either; just a simple but good looking dark polyester longs that are suitable for any occasion and are washable overnight when needed. The computer that I usually use for blogging and email communication etc? Replaced by the compact tablet (I use the Galaxy which is perfect for blogging, emailing etc.) I almost forgot -my smart and organized wife is an avid reader but now all her books are taken with her on her tablet too.

And that friends is how we will be travelling this year. I have happily accepted the huge concessions that Jeanette has willingly made and I can live with carrying the small drag behind carry on bag. For now anyway!

So, suitcases, you are hearby completely banned from travelling with us. Good riddance as we move on to happier travels!



Happy travels.

Advertisement



29th April 2015

suitcases
Absolutely brilliant, it will be amazing how much easier every stage of your travel will be. We really don't need most of the stuff we own anyway. Enjoy!
1st May 2015

toiletries
Very interesting article. However one detail: If you intend to travel from one place to the other, which you will this time, you will have to carry toiletries from one place to the other anyway. Would it not be better to buy it before you leave, as you know better where to find it at home, unless you want to buy some in every place you go, and then throw it away?
1st May 2015

Good on you!
Not an easy thing to do especially with me as I always pack to much and don't use everything - but you might just convert me.
2nd May 2015

Traveling light
On our first around the world trip we were determined to travel light. For our ten month trip we took less luggage and personal belongings than we usually took for a long weekend. We survived happily and have never gone back to over packing. Now it is a challenge to find all the right clothes to minimize and match. Glad you've crossed over. You will always be happy you did.
5th May 2015

Great example!
Thank you for the encouragement; it is much appreciated.

Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb