Family Trip to Calgary


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
August 8th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Calgary Olympic ParkCalgary Olympic ParkCalgary Olympic Park

The front of the musem and gift shop.
The four of us headed off to Calgary early in the morning with Calaway Park as our first destination. This outside amusement park is about 10km from the city and we arrived early in the day to take in all it had to offer. The kids went on most of the rides (there are about 30 rides in total). The wonderful thing is that when I was about my daughter's age, my dad took me and my brother to Calaway Park so it was wonderful to share this with my daugher! As the park is not really that big, we headed off to our hotel with a pool and waterslide.

Upon arrival, it was one diappointment after the other! I actually wrote a list so I would not forget! It started with: the alarm clark didn't work(or the clock for that matter), it was very dusty,the fridge was not cold(we paid extra for the fridge), the remote control didnt work for the tv, the light bulb was dead in an important light, the second bed, which was supposed to be a second queen bed, was in fact a sofa pull out in which my nephew claims " mom, I can't sleep here, there are nails poking me!!!" so...a pockey, lumpy sofa pullout (and I never heard the end of it!) and an ucky bathroom! So, in a summary there is the Comfort Inn Calgary Airport. Which I strongly do NOT recommend. We unpacked and took the kids to the pool with the waterslide. The kids had fun.

We headed off to Boston Pizza for dinner and then back to the waterslide! After the disappointments we had, we made a reservation for the next night at the Four Points Sheraton(at the insistance of my travelling companions), where they assured me there were two, two queen size beds and yes, the pool and waterslide were working! So the next morning we packed up and were just going to leave our luggage at the new hotel so we would have more room in the car, and when we arrived, as it turns out, our room is ready for check in if we wish!!!! Ahhh this hotel certainly is starting off with on right foot! We changed our plans of going to the zoo as the kids really liked this waterslide and pool...so off to the pool we went! After a refreshing
COP Ski JumpsCOP Ski JumpsCOP Ski Jumps

The Olympic Ski Jumps. When I was here previously for an inspirational rally, we dined in the tower of the ski jump!
swim we headed over to the Calgary Olypic Park (COP) to investigate!

The Calgary Olympic Park is home to the 1988 Olympic Winter Games.
The COP was really amazing! In the winter time it is home to downhill skiing, ski jumping, bobsled, luge, and skelaton. In the summer time, it is home to bike parks, hiking, bobsled and luge training. They really have taken advantage of all seasons of Alberta. It is wonderful to see that.

Many years ago, when I worked for another travel company, the sent us to Calgary for national meetings and insirational speaches. The dinner was in the highest ski jump tower and we all got to take the bobsled down! It really was incedible! And more incredible, I got to share this with my daughter and show her this wonderful monument we have to athletes all around the world.

We took the chair lift up to the top and followed the bobsled run down the the finsh line. Of course my nephew made it there before the rest of us and we found him..of course...at the finish line talking to the bobsled athletes and I am sure asking them a million questions!
COP Bobsled RunCOP Bobsled RunCOP Bobsled Run

A few years ago, I was here for an insirational rally and I actually got to ride the bobsled down the track! It was summer time so the sled was on wheels though! But is was Cool..
Good for my little buddy!!!

When we were checking out the luge runs...there was lightening...so the chairlifts closed down...and it was close to closing time for the park. So, we headed back to our hotel to take the kids back to the pool and more importantly the waterslide!! We played here for a long while then we went to supper at Wendy's just across the street and after supper we did head back to the pool and waterslide. The kids had an eventful day and were asleep before they knew it.

The last day and we just packed up and headed home as I had a soccer game that night. We did have a wonderful family holiday and all that goes with it!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

COP Luge PractiseCOP Luge Practise
COP Luge Practise

The do let you try this, unfortunatly, there were closed the day we visited.
COP Bike LiftCOP Bike Lift
COP Bike Lift

So that you can carry your bike to the top!
COP Bike ParkCOP Bike Park
COP Bike Park

In the summer, the ski hill is converted to biking trails and parks.
Sheraton BedSheraton Bed
Sheraton Bed

Ahhh I cannot describe the joy and comfort (and relief from the complaining of my travel companions)to have TWO such wonderful beds!
Jamaican BobsledJamaican Bobsled
Jamaican Bobsled

"Cool Runnings" movie was partly filmed at this park! And this is the actual Jamaican bobsled!


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb