Inglewood (Calgary) Sculptuary and other art


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
January 24th 2013
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post




Even when I say "Inglewood Art Supply store", I smell oil paints, and paint thinner and remover... and wax... and it's a wonderful smell!!!

For me, it’s a throwback to childhood – it smells like my mom’s oil painting box. Perhaps that’s why I find the smell comforting… some people have a similar nostalgic feeling when they smell cookies baking.

The store is small, with narrow aisles, packed FULL of supplies. I often need help in locating something – I could browse, but then, I’d buy way more than planned… that happens anyway.

I’ve learned that Calgary is known for its sculptures and art, scattered around the city. I have driven passed many pieces, many times, during rush hour, and never even noticed. Now that I’ve started this blog, though, I not only notice these things, but stop for a closer look.

Inglewood (and the neighborhood right next store, Ramsay) has some very interesting pieces.

This first statue (shown above) is at Fort Calgary, and is of Colonel James Alexander Farquharson (not a typo) Macleod, who was an RCMP commission at Fort Calgary – which, by the way, he named in 1876. (I briefly discussed Fort Calgary in my Inglewood blog July 16 2013).

He died in October 1880 and is buried in Union Cemetery, in Calgary.

There are statues, sculptures and general quirky art scattered all around Inglewood and the attached neighborhood of Ramsay.
One of the…oddest…is the upside-down church, in the Ramsay area. It’s technically named, by the artist (Dennis Oppenheim), “Device to Root Out Evil”…. I don’t love that name.. but it is what it is.



Originally, it was in Vancouver, but considered too controversial, and some people were offended by it, so, eventually, it was relocated to Calgary. IF you are offended by it – I’m just showing you what’s there, and don’t necessarily want to debate it.

Across the street from the Deane House (also mentioned in my Inglewood blog) is the Stone Sculpture Symposium: The Circle of Life.




There’s so much more in Inglewood – there’s even more in this particular park! Go to Inglewood, save enough time for a stroll, wander around looking at the art, go visit the galleries, stay for lunch. Be inspired – go buy paints and canvas or some charcoals at Inglewood Art Supplies. (http://www.calgary-inglewood.com/Home-New)


See you on Wednesday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb