Road Trip - The Cat Empire


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Cat Empire


Wednesday night we headed to the Warehouse in downtown Calgary for the concert. The Cat Empire are doing a 'world tour' and launching their Two Shoes CD. I couldnt pass up the opportunity to see them in Canada after seeing them at Federation Square, Melbourne for New Years Eve 2005 and in Perth at Belvoir this summer. So a third time in Calgary couldnt be missed! And they were fantastic! The place was packed and they played for almost 2 hours so it was a great concert ... so good we all had to buy the t-shirts!

At the end of the night Lindsay and I navigated the streets home with more detours and made it back to the trailer.

Thursday we headed out to some vintage/second hand stores in town to do some budget shopping.
And yes - it had to be done - I am now the proud owner of a pink cowboy hat! I bought one at a second-hand store in preparation for the Stampede in July. So now all I need are the boots and shirt and I will be set for some wild-west stampede action!! And I can't wait...

Back

in Banff We were planning to go to Bingo (yes - I said Bingo) for the cheap beer and a chance to win $1000 but by the time we got there it was a full house - which shows it is cool! I couldnt believe it. I have been waiting since I got here to go but it has always conflicted with my schedule and the night I finally get a chance we miss out!! But I will make it one time soon and win my fortunes.
Our back up plan was to watch the world cup replay game of Australia vs Croatia at Pump and Tap pub. And speaking as a non-fan of soccer it was actually quiet enjoyable especially knowing we were going to win (we knew the outcome just not the score - you have to live in a bubble in a cave around here so you dont find out the score) Anyway I figure I should do my bit as an Aussie in another country and jump on the bandwagon of whatever sport is going on...

But for now its back to work and life as normal.
Until Stampede that is ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

At the warehouseAt the warehouse
At the warehouse

Sopie, Ben and Lindsay
The Cat EmpireThe Cat Empire
The Cat Empire

Harry on trumpet
The Cat EmpireThe Cat Empire
The Cat Empire

Felix & Harry


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb