Banff to Calgary


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Marja
The last few days has meant saying goodbye to the Rocky Mountains. It's a bit sad as it was so spectacular. We ended on a high point with a helicopter flight and I got some very good photos out the window. Calgary is a nice town and I spent the time winding down from the tour and getting the washing of clothes sorted. I still haven't had a bad meal in Canada and the service is excellent.

To add to my holiday happiness they have a lot of "Dog the Bounty Hunter" on TV. I love Dog. I especially love Mrs Dog. She's my hero.

Toronto tomorrow.

Oh! Dog is now vacuuming with his shirt off! I think I've seen this one.

From Shell: The chopper ride was a blast, despite my reservations that none of the staff (including the pilots) was much older than about 23. I even bought the dorky, overpriced photo at the end. Interesting to see the old ski jumps and stuff from the '88 winter olympics here in Calgary but otherwise, there isn't a lot to make me recommend Calgary in September. We've been having an indian summer here, with record high temperatures as we came through the rockies - it was 31 celsius here today! We walked on a glacier a few days ago in t-shirts and light jackets. Apparently a week before that, there were snow storms! Doesn't matter - having fun anyway and buying touristy t-shirts.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb