The Verdict


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
June 15th 2009
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Perfect Triangle

Calgary to Canmore, up Ha Ling with an ice cream reward in Cochrane.

VertiGOVertiGOVertiGO

Ha Ling drops straight into Canmore - the view is not for the faint of heart
"You're not going to make it."

This was the verdict when I announced to some colleagues that I planned to stay in Calgary for the next two years. I had found some temp work covering reception for my old company and even the people that started there after I left seemed unconvinced about my resolve to stay here long term. My voice must waiver when I answer the already-skeptical, "how long are you staying this time," question.

Once again, I am out to prove something, though. The last time I left, I needed to prove that I could adapt to life abroad. Now I need to make sure I can re-adapt to life here. Non-believers aside, I'm setting myself up pretty well, with a full slate of exciting activities to distract me from the temptation of booking another plane ticket.

This weekend's events included the preparation of one of my French-family-standbys (quiche and leeks vinaigrette), for which I must thank Juju and the Ls, complemented with some decent pepper-pate from the supermarket and a scrumptious selection of French-reminiscent cheeses from my all-time favourite cheese shop - Janice Beaton Fine Cheese .

Saturday necessitated some calorie-burning so my
The First TimeThe First TimeThe First Time

This photo is actually from my first ascent of Ha Ling. I forgot to bring my camera this time (oops! and darn!)
friend, J-man, and I did a breathless quick-and-dirty first-scramble-of-the-season up to Ha Ling Peak . A steep and intimidating rock wall that looms over the city of Canmore, about 45 minutes out of Calgary, it's a great season-starter that gets your legs and lungs burning while other peaks remain covered with snow; and it's close enough to the city that you can sleep in and still get a work out and a view. It's also conveniently located near a highway that leads you to the best ice cream parlour in Alberta - Cochrane's historic Mackay's , a great way to make up for all those calories we left back in Canmore.

After yesterday's intense work-out, I mellowed out at home with some meditative cleaning (this is fake meditation, wherein I pretend that cleaning is a positive experience and not just a means to a nice living space) followed by a real meditative and truly fun Shakti yoga class with my new roommates at the Bodhi Tree yoga studio
, chic and pricey, but oh so worth it for that rubbery calm you feel when you're done.

It was Roomie R's birthday today, as well. So just to make
Worth the WaitWorth the WaitWorth the Wait

Mackays ice cream might not taste as good if you didn't have to line up for it
sure we hadn't burned too many calories doing handstands at yoga, a bunch of us went to a great little Korean BBQ called Hankang in the northwest to celebrate with Kim-chi, Bul-go-ghi, Korean pancakes and the sweetest honey-dijon potatoes any of us have ever eaten. Bellies bursting, we finished off at the house with a divine Oreo ice cream cake, courtesy of Roomie J. Take THAT yoga!

As I roll myself to bed, I feel my impulse to leave this city fading...unless it's to head out to the mountains again for another glorious hike.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.1791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.8kb