Turning Thought into Process.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, my name is Joey and I live in southern Alberta, Canada. I reside in a city named Calgary but was born in a town south of Calgary called Lethbridge. I came to Calgary in March 2005 in an attempt to start a carrear in hairstyling. I went to Hair School and worked at several salons in Calgary, only to find many hardships along the way. I worked as an asssistant in salons through and after school, watching fellow students move on in their carrear while buliding a clientelle. I graduated in 2006 and now I am entering 2009 and I have not advance in my carrear. I never uderstood why it was taking me so long to advance in my carrear, untill I realized that my heart no longer had a passion for Hairstyling. Hairstyling had been a passion of mine since I was a young boy and I never wanted to do anything else but hair. But a couple years ago about the time I just got out of hairschool, I started noticing things about myself that were not present before. I started becoming anti-social, depressed, feeling lifeless and sad all the time. Life had become a dark place for me. I didnt know why untill one day it dawned on me. This was not the life I wanted for myself, it was not who I was. No wander I was becoming so depressed and sad all the time...I started to settle for the way things were and not for what they could be. Plus I was begining to settle and root myself in Calgary. All this time I had fallen into the trap of the "American Routine." You know...Getting Married, The SUV, the Kids, the carrear, house in the burbs, and the white pickett fence? Well okay so none of those things actually came to pass, but they would have if I hadnt taken realized the direction I was heading. Why was I putting myself into a unhappy, unhappening carrear? Do you really wanna work behind a salon chair for the rest of your life? No not really. I couldnt picture myself doing it all my life, mabye for short period at differnt point in my life. Then I asked myself why Im working all these crazy hours? So I can afford a "house," "car" or the "latest funiture/gadget"? Nope thats not it. Ive never wanted a house and those other material things...just make one unsatisfied anyways. So why am I working on building a carrear? I had no answer except that I had fallen into that " American Routine." It was just the thing to do once you got out of high school. I never truly asked myself what I wanted to do. What was I about. I discovered that Im not ready to settle nor do I wanna settle. Im creative and has an imagination that lives for fantasty and adventure. Im care-free and relaxed in nature. Spontantous and experimantal. Constanly needing change and never knowing whats around the corner. Intrigued by other cultures. I need chaos rather then order. Just some of things I came up with and then it hit me...what better way to be all that but to go traveling. Be a guy who lives out of a backpack and goes from Hostel to Hostel and a free spirited gypsy! So this is the conclusion that brought me to my first blog on "TravelBlog" and the begginning of my journey. Over the next year of 2009, I will begin researching, planning, saving and making this new dream a reality. I will keep updating my blogs of my planning. Good night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb