Packing to go!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
July 17th 2005
Published: July 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It's Sunday. I'm packing my suitcases and bags for the trip. I will be traveling to Edmonton on the bus at 9:00 AM, Monday morning.
Last November (2004), I purchased an International Student Identity Card (ISIC) for $16.00CA from my travel agent at the university. Holders of an ISIC normally receive exclusive travel discounts with companies such as Greyhound and VIA rail. The details on the card -- such as the institutional affiliation, birth-date, name, and the yearly expiration date -- are normally printed on a special holographic, plastic film. Unfortunately, the printer was not working at the travel office -- so the agent hand-wrote the details on the film instead. I should have said something at the time, because the card did not look very authentic in the end. Instead, I smiled and nodded as she reassured me that I would not have any problems.
As I would soon discover, the travel agent was wrong.
Yesterday evening (Saturday, July 16th, 2005), I went to the ticket agent at the Greyhound bus depot. Of course, he frowned when I presented what appeared to be a "questionable" ID card. I felt terrible. I had to empty my wallet, show extra pieces of ID, and attempt to prove what I already knew: that my $16 card is real. The card "ought to appear" as authentic as my drivers license -- but, because of a technical error last year, it isn't.
I was able to get my much-deserved discount, but only after showing multiple IDs and papers to the representative at the depot.
Today, I will be calling the people from ISIC to address the problem; but I might be too late. It's Sunday, and I leave tomorrow. I hope that I do not have a rough time when I purchase my CanRail pass in Edmonton. I plan to save $85CA with the card; so, I'm hoping -- begging -- for a glitch-free transaction tomorrow.
Still, as I look at my hand-written ID card, I have to be realistic.
Everett


Advertisement



17th July 2005

You'll be OK
I am sure everything will turn out. It is called a "glitch", "real life", or perhaps "a memory". Have a great trip!
17th July 2005

The Adventure Begins!!
Hope you don't have any hassles with other ticket agents over the authenticity issue. Liked your packing list too.... do you plan to do laundry at any time??? 14 pr. UW.....hmmm!!! I'm sure we can help you out when you get here!!! Have fun... get into some deep discussions in the lounge car on the train.... I remember meeting some interesting people that way..... 40 yrs. ago (Oh my!! that long) Love Beth
19th July 2005

Day two
I am thinking of you this morning and wonder how you spent the night. Did you see the sunrise? Hot here today ao I am staying inside. Joan is looking forward to seeing you in Halifax. Love Grandma
24th July 2005

trains plains and automobiles
Reading with interest your progress. Some things will have changed since 1951 and some things will have stayed the same. I have crossed Canada a number of time. Car, motor bike, but most times by air. (2005 - 1951 is 51 years Beth :) how time flies. I was going to say that was the last major train trip I took but have used the train in Ontario when visiting Ontario and enjoyed a trip to Vancouver in '85. looking forward to next stop.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb