Happy New Year and Catching You Up!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
January 1st 2007
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy New Year All and warmest wishes for a new year full of health, happiness and peace. I thought it fitting that today, New Years Day, be the final blog for this chapter of Chica Jan’s 2006 amazing adventure.

I have been home some 3 weeks spending time in both Calgary and Edmonton. To say that I have been experiencing culture shock - is a complete understatement. I find myself seeing our fast paced, constant stimulation and constant consumption world through another lens. You know you are in culture shock when you feel more at home with a Nigerian cab driver who you have just met than family and friends who are so excited to have you home!!!! And of course this has all been heightened by the mad rush of the holiday season. My brother Grant and sister-in-law Jennifer found me huddled in a corner Christmas Day with tears streaming down my face after we had finished opening presents. I was so overwhelmed with the abundance having come from places where there is so little. Yet feeling conflicted not wanting to deny my nieces and nephews of the joy and excitement they were experiencing. So I think this will be the paradox I walk for the next while.

I continue to be overwhelmed with our western ways and many times have found myself having to retreat to quiet places. I know this will pass but hope I don't lose all of this feeling. I crave simplicity and find myself purging the stuff I have....and I purged before I left! New purchases must meet a new criteria -- needed, quality and multi-purpose where possible! Quiet coffees with friends & family and my loft have been a wonderful refuge. Ben, my golden retriever, who has the gentlest soul and disposition, has also been wonderful comfort. He has adjusted well to returning to the inner city lifestyle. And yes seems to remember his Mom! Long walks in the park with Ben, yoga and meditation are part of the new Calgary routine. And yes I can still stand on my head!!!!

Thank you to the many of you who have sent me welcome home wishes and asked that I get in touch. I have been keeping a low profile and am so grateful for the time I have had to slowly re-integrate back into my Calgary life. I see now what a gift that has been. My circle has been pretty small these past few weeks and I owe a debt of gratitude to the chicas (that includes you Don!) and my family for surrounding me in a cocoon of love, support and understanding. Especially because I think I have been a little weird! This is a quieter reflective and edgier Jan than you may remember. I promise to get in touch early in the New Year so you can see for yourself - lol!

I had hinted a while back that I had found some work that will allow me to contribute internationally and continue the amazing journey began in 2006. I am thrilled to let you know that I have accepted a consulting assignment with Aga Khan University based in Calgary reporting to Karachi, Pakistan (how cool is that??!!!). Tomorrow, January 2nd, I begin the next chapter helping to promote, build relationships and fundraise in Canada for this emerging world class university. This is a university who is distinguishing itself in the areas of healthcare, medicine and education for developing nations. You may recall how impressed I have been with AKU’s programs and the impact they are having in raising communities out of poverty. A key success factor for AKU is educating women and promoting the status of women in societies. “If you educate a boy, you educate a man. If you educate a girl, you educate a family. So given a choice between educating a boy or girl - choose the girl”. These are visionary words paraphrased and said by His Highness the Aga Khan some 50 years ago. And I have witnessed the power of this vision with my own eyes in both Pakistan and East Africa. What an honor and privilege for me to be given the opportunity to contribute to the continued manifestation of this vision. I am over the moon excited and humbled by the opportunity. It also means that I will continue my travels and learnings and be mentored by a world recognized leader in community development. Yes this chica is over the moon excited!

On a personal note, I will continue to keep in touch and do some e-volunteer work with C-Meda, St. Rita’s Community Based Orphan Care and Ladies in Action - all based in Kisumu. I have been so impressed with these organizations, their commitment to orphan care and especially the local women leading these organizations, Anne-Marie, Bernadette and Nejla, respectively. It is important for me and a way to honor the hospitality and support shown to me while in Kisumu to keep a footprint there.

Lastly, thank you to all of you for sharing in this journey with me. I simply could have not done it without your support and cheers from the sidelines. Again I extend my heartfelt wishes for the happiest and prosperous of New Years. With Love, Jan


Advertisement



7th January 2007

Welcome Home my friend...
Dear Jan: great to hear you are safely back although albeit somewhat shell-shocked. I do understand the overwhelming nature of Christmas - being an orphan, I was never afforded the out-of-control luxuries that Christmas afforded those around me. That upbringing has kept me grounded and to this day; even with a new granddaughter, we do NOT buy Christmas presents for our family. Instead, we adopt a family (actually, 3 or 4 families now that we are so many in numbers) and we gleefully shop together for them. Talk about powerful. It is a struggle to remember that Christmas, for us Catholics and Christians, should be about Christ's birthday. My children; nieces; great nieces and now granddaughter have all been taught that on Christ's birthday, we do Christ's work - we take care of those who need our help. And on their birthday's, Auntie Debra (or Nonna to my granddaughter!), will spoil them... It works, it really does. This year, as the kids are all maturing, I have really, really seen the difference that giving to those less fortunate has made in their lives. Powerful, truly powerful. I look very forward to visiting you at work - I am truly so proud of you Jan. Take care and God Bless, Debra

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.8kb