The Rockies


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff » Norquay
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Adventures continue!!!!


I have now arrived in Calgary after making the 6 hour drive from Saskatoon along straight endless roads with nothing but country side to see.
Calgary is an awesome city. Not much for the backpacker to see but a good industrial city which hosts nothing but blue skies and an awesome view of the Rocky Mountains. I think I have found the place I want to work for the time I am in Canada!!!! and as a result i have bought a ski season pass which i am so excited about. I cant wait to hit the slopes!








Calgary is extremely close to the rocky mountains so our first port of call was a climb up the biggest peak over looking all the mountains and the town of Canmore. It was a long slow strain up and a very fast tumble down but the views were spectacular as I hope you can see from the pictures. Worth every bit of the sever leg ache I am now experiencing. The beer at the top whilst dangling our legs over the 1000m drop was the best I have ever tasted. At least at that height the beer was kept cool!!!!







The following day we were taken mountain biking. Easy you may think but my god I have never been challenged so much. The paths were covered in loose rock and roots and seemed to be near vertical. However I think the highlight of the whole mountain biking experience was seeing my mate Karl take on a slope and fly over the handle bars and landing over a precipice. Thankfully he was ok but he did break the $140 helmet and has to replace it. Expensive hobby! But so much fun.








This brings me up to today where we went on yet another hike though the Rockies in the hunt for bears. Unfortunately none were found but the sights are just out of this world. I will let the pictures do the talking for me as there is nothing I can say which can describe how beautiful this country is.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb