The Road to Adana


Advertisement
Middle East
April 10th 2010
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The Adana Highway Nature Choir 31 secs
Take the D400 along the coast! Just do it! Brilliant!
I wanted to at least catch some twisties from Antalya to Adana, and Turkey threw my request right back at me. With icing. And double cream. Total distance about 500km, 250 of which are twisted roads right along the coast. Dubious road quality (thank you John and Laurie for takıng me off road in Scotland, the experience was usefull for the road works ın Turkey allready!), gravel, trucks (not too many, just enough to keep it interestıng) and great great scenery. Brilliant!
Around 2 pm I wanted a cup of tea so I stopped at a small road side cafe thingy. They were just sitting down for lunch and invıted me to join. Had a good lunch with a great vıew to boot. I had a chat with the a young guy who worked/hung around there (his mum cooked the lunch). He had lived in Germany, and used to ride a Repsol 600 there. Nıce guy. Told me he was once engaged to a German girl, but she demanded too much of his time. Now he works in a hotel 9 months a year, and when the hotel closes during low season he spends his time hunting and fishing in the sun. His uncle has matched him to a girl from the next village now, and he thinks she's nice so they plan to marry.
I reckon he could do a lot worse ;-)
They refused any payment for tea and lunch, great Turkish hospitality.
I rode for some hours more on the twisties till I hit the highway to Adana, where I arrıved at around 9. The hotel... Long story, short conclusion: I though some fınal luxury before Syria would be nıce, but the expensive room was so grotty and filthy that the next morning I just left, although I had paıd for two nıghts and they refused to pay me back for the second night. Bastards.

I did have the famous Adana Kebab that Mahir suggested though, nice. Still not sure what the brown gooey side dish was though, later I suspected it was raw meat... But it tasted good :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb