Goodbye Yemen....


Advertisement
Yemen's flag
Middle East » Yemen
November 21st 2005
Published: November 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hustle and FlowHustle and FlowHustle and Flow

No more coveralls! The whole time I felt like I was in a rap video, because my pants were too loose, I could only strut.
Sigh, I'm leaving the CPF tomorrow early in the AM (3:45am...yawn) and today really all I want to do is sit around the office and relax. But on to the next part of my trip, back to Dubai, then on to Frankfurt and Barcelona... Finally! Working out here on slow computers, and early, early mornings really makes me appreciate the nice things and relaxing atmosphere the Calgary office has. For sure I will not miss the 12 hour days....

So, as timing would have it, I was supposed to pull out the big guns at breakfast, then it was moved to lunchtime, then dinner time, and then early morning again. I don't think I'm gonna make it out to set off the explosives. Too bad. We made it out to the wellsite in the late afternoon anyways, so that my co-worker Bill could spit on the guns for good luck. Man, are the sunsets ever nice, but quick out there.

Since this camp is made up mostly of Yemeni nationals, and all of them are Muslim, a mosque was built on the camp so they could pray everyday. I pass by this mosque every day on the way to
Camels say what?Camels say what?Camels say what?

Me and the Camels are going to ride off into the sunset. I'm taking them on the plane! Goodbye Yemen!
the office and often wondered what it looked like inside. Because I'm a girl, and a non-Muslim, there was no way that I was going to get a look inside. However, during our well reviews, one of our co-workers who was from the Sana'a office, and not completely strict, told me, and my other Calgarian co-workers that we could get a chance to see inside. I took the opportunity for sure.

We were required to take off our shoes entering the mosque, and first thing we were shown was that people washed their hands before going in, to clean themselves before entering a place of worship. There was an intricately designed carpet with a design of pillars, which served an alternate purpose than just decoration. The pillars allowed men to line up in rows so that they could be properly organized and kneel shoulder to shoulder on the floor. Unlike most places where people try to sit as far away from each other, Muslims sit close to each other so that the devil cannot pass between them. Stronger as a whole, not an individual. At the front there was a chair and sort of a pulpit where the head guy could read from the Quran. The overall decor inside was simple, as our guide said, "You should concentrate on prayer, and not on the artwork on the walls." Blending tradition with technology, about a year ago, they got some sort of device that blocks cell phone signals, so there is never an annoying cell phone ringing during prayer time.

I'm looking forward to going to Spain, and getting a nice vacation. I think I've had about all the fries and ice cream that anyone could ask for. Get this for good food at the camp: last night we all dined on lobster!!!

Thanks to all of you who have been sending your comments. I have been able to read them but not able to write back, cause I'm so busy out here, but I will send out another entry soon!



Advertisement



21st November 2005

Hey!
HI charishe, It's been nice to hear of your adventures. ou are very lucky that you get to see this part of the world and all the positive things about it, what an experience. So what makes this fries and ice cream so good that you gotta have it all the time? I gotta know. Have fun buing gold once agian in Dubai and eat lotsa good food in spain! I am soooooo jealous.HUGS!
21st November 2005

nice coverall...parang si uncle rey ka na ...triple lang ang sueldo he he he well have a good trip, ill see you in PI if not in calgary,
22nd November 2005

what a cutie
You actually look like you might be doing some work.
23rd November 2005

Dummies!!!!
Mom and I Never opened Your message 'cause we thought your messages are spam. However by stroke of luck I happened to ask Noel what are these messages and he simply said that's from "ate". Enjoy and see you soon.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb