Game, Set, Match... Yemen


Advertisement
Yemen's flag
Middle East » Yemen
November 19th 2005
Published: November 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wadis and a Drilling RigWadis and a Drilling RigWadis and a Drilling Rig

Looks like the Grand Canyon
Pretty uneventful day today, later on after work I will be at the Wadi Club for a good time BBQ, again celebrating the retirement of the same man as a few days ago (remember?? goat?). I will be avoiding the beer this time.

One major event happened today however, and I officially un-retired from the pro tennis circuit. Today at lunch, I played tennis with 3 engineers here and one of them kindly offered to lend me his raquet. Game on. I didn't have proper shorts or shoes or other attire, but made due with what I had.

I thought I was gonna have a tough time with the weather, as around 11:30am, the temperature around here gets to be about 33 °C, but it was breezy and nice. Sometimes I wish I was a guy and could just take off my shirt while playing. Alas, I left that to the VERY tanned older (and larger) engineers who had no shame...yikes. Word on the street out here is that if you don't watch what you eat around here, you could end up wearing your coveralls home, because that's the only thing that will fit you. The fries and ice
You looking at Me?You looking at Me?You looking at Me?

I like camels. I wonder what they taste like? I think he's wondering what I taste like.
cream here are REALLY good. Uh oh...

Anyways, I think we won, but it's hard to say. This is what I learned about my game today though:

1. I still need work on my serve. Too inconsistent and fluffy. Got better as the match went on.
2. My other shots need more practice. Too inconsistent and hard. Need to learn some touch. Got worse as the match went on. Both forehand and backhand.
3. Volleys Non-existent
4. Need to move my feet more, too often found flat footed.

Conclusion: Same problems as last time.

Tomorrow is going to be an exciting day, they are re-completing a well and will need to perforate in a new zone. I will be allowed to drop the bar, which means I will get to set off the guns which will set off the explosions underground to put holes in the rock formations you need to inject or perforate from. Welcome to the gun show!!!

Advertisement



19th November 2005

Have a great time!
Hey, Charishe, so that's what it's like living in a camp. Doesn't sound like you are deprived of anything though. Tennis, ice cream, goat....;+)
19th November 2005

Hey Charishe, sounds like you're having a an awesome time! And if the icecream and fries are that good, don't worry about those 5 pounds...you're on vacation. p.s. - who's the dummy letting you have a firearm....
20th November 2005

breezy?
I would do anything for it to be +33C up here Charise (I still can't spell your name right). It was -20C up here for the past couple of days. Wanna trade places?
20th November 2005

So jealous
Aw! Now I wanna go to Yemen. All this goat talk is making me hungry! Don't get too excited shooting off those guns (not like how you usually get, shooting other stuff off) ;-)

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb