Dubai Town


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates
August 14th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Arrived easily into the sauna which is Dubai at this time of year and picked up by dear sister Camilla. I think the night time temp is about 40C and 50% humidity. The basic plan is to do very little except read and take the occasional night time stroll and swim. Walked around to Al Reef Bakery for Zaatar toasted Lebanese rolls.

Went out to Jumeria Madinat and had a drink with a few of the flatmates. I like Dubai as it is such a complex cultural place with people from all over the planet. Had a great conversation with a Lebanese girl about Tibetian geography. We were both enoying the fact that the plateau is so high at about 5000m. I read latter that its meant to be the highest 'large' structure in Earth's history.

I've been reading Tamerlane by Marozzi which is a great introduction to the ferocious leader from what is now Uzbekistan. Since the fall of the soviet empire he has been lionised as a role model for the Uzbeks. However, after reading some of the blood curdling slaughter he ordered I'm not really convinced this is such a good idea. That said he did sponsor the arts and many famous buildings which I'm really looking forward to seeing. Also read the Google Story about Larry Page and Sergey Brin.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My new Haircut..........  My new Haircut..........
My new Haircut..........

did I really need it this short???????
Laurance, Camilla, Me and RuthLaurance, Camilla, Me and Ruth
Laurance, Camilla, Me and Ruth

At the top of Jebel Hafeet nearby Al Ain about 80mins south east of Dubai


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb