Dubai - traditional experiences


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates
March 20th 2018
Published: March 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We had a whole day in Dubai and decided to take a traditional route. Just as people think everyone in Texas has a horse, or how everyone in Holland wears wooden shoes - I thought I would see everyone riding a camel. But no. The world is modernized and you have to go where they 'create an experience for the romantics like myself. Although it could be considered 'cheesey' to some, our travel guide Jose Gomez found one that was nice.

Our driver picked us up and first took us driving through the red sands in the Hatta Desert. I seriously do not know how they can ride in the sand! We had an awesome Land Cruiser . Our driver called it Dune Bashing. All I know is I had no idea how many curse words I knew. My husband was in the front seat enjoying every minute, while I kept my eyes closed a majority of the time. We stopped for some amazing pictures, then turned to see the people in ther car behind us throwing up. My small victory was that at least I could hold my own.

It's an experience - another one of my 50 things to do this year.

Some other great experiences were when we arrived in the middle of the desert to a compound. It was clearly for tourist, but again, I did not mind it. We rode camels. Just in a large circle for pictures. I was ok with that, because I feel bad for the camels. My friend, Marybeth, wanted to go further into the desert.

We then were taken to one side of the compound to dress in traditional wear. Marybeth wore a burka, my husband wore a turning and I was somewhere in between. Again, it was just for a quick photo. Clothes on, clothes off.

Then it was henna tattoo time. I'm still regretting getting this on my hand. When it starts to wear off it looks like your hand is dirty. I hope I'm not insulting them, it's just not my style.

We even smoked from a hookah. Hookahs are water pipes that are used to smoke specially made tobacco that comes in different flavors, such as apple, mint, cherry, chocolate, coconut, licorice, cappuccino, and watermelon. We chose mint flavor. Not a big fan. But another thing I can check off my 50 list!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb