Mission "Impossible" Accomplished


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
December 11th 2012
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 25.27, 55.33

Since the apartment was only available for one night due to another booking I had to check out this morning. Luckily my friend Eddie has a friend in Dubai who I contacted and Tewfic was so kind to offer me to stay with his family while I am in Dubai. So I grabbed my stuff took the Metro to his office where I dropped it off because there wasn't enough time to take it to his home. Then I raced back to the Metro and just made it in time for my reservation to go up the tallest building in the world, the 828m (2732ft) Burj Khalifa. Truly a magnificent building and engineering marvel! And the main reason i came here. In 2011 it was the movie location for "Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol". I booked the 4PM slot to be able to stay up there for the sunset and got rewarded with amazing views. Back at Tewfic's home we had a delicious Lebanese dinner and afterwards we went out for drinks where I also smoked my first Sheesha 😉

Da das Apartment wegen einer anderen Buchung nur fuer eine Nacht verfuegbar war, musste ich heute wieder auschecken. Gluecklicherweise half mir mein Freund Eddie Kontakt zu einem seiner Freunde hier in Dubai aufzunehmen. Und Eddie's Freund Tewfic war dann so nett und lud mich ein, bei ihm und seiner Familie zu uebernachten. Also schnappte ich mein Zeug, nahm die Metro zu Tewfic's Buero und liess mein Zeug dort, da ich es zeitlich nicht mehr bis zu seiner Wohnung schaffte. Dann rannte ich zurrueck zur Metro und kam gerade noch rechtzeitig dazu mein 16 Uhr Ticket abzuholen, um hoch auf das derzeit hoechste Gebaeude der Welt zu fahren - den Burj Khalifa (828m). Ein wahrhaft grandioser Wolkenkratzer und ingenieur-technische Meisterleistung! Und der Hauptgrund, warum ich nach Dubai kam. Letztes Jahr war es der Drehort fuer "Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol". Ich buchte mein Ticket fuer 16 Uhr damit ich bis zum Sonnenuntergang oben bleiben konnte. Und der Ausblick war es absolut wert. Spaeter zu Hause bei Tewfic hatten wir ein leckeres libanesisches Abendessen bevor wir ausgingen und ich zum ersten Mal Wasserpfeife, oder Sheesha, rauchte 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb