Dubai - Gold and Spice Souk's


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
July 11th 2006
Published: July 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We got up as early as we could, and once again made it just in time for our free breakfast. We quickly packed our stuff, though my suitcase had got heavier rather than lighter as I had added my newly purchased goods. We left our stuff in the hotel reception, and headed off to the much talked about Gold and Spice Souk’s.

We caught an Abra (boat) across to the other side for 1 Dirham. We managed to find our way to the Spice souk. Large sacks of herbs, spices and other goods lined thin walkways made of cobbles. There were a few shops that largely resembled the equivalent of a 1,2,3 dollar store, which contrastingly littered the landscape from the old world charm.

We then made our way to the gold souk, thanks to the directions from some other likeminded tourists. I was not sure what to expect, but it certainly was different to what was there. It felt like a Dubai version on the Victoria Park Markets on a busy Sunday morning. Shop after shop displayed well more than a standard window full of gold and silver jewellery. The cluttered presentation made us wonder if some of
Brendan - Spice SoukBrendan - Spice SoukBrendan - Spice Souk

Doesn't that car look out-of-place?
it was with our price range. With a bit of peer pressure from Brendan, we decided to go into a shop and check a few things out, just to get a feel for the prices.

I saw a very nice, but simple necklace sitting half hidden behind the counter on a shelf, which I thought was very nice. However, on enquiring about the price the shop keeper started at just over 8,000 Dirham’s. Just a little outside my price range.

I found a little store at one end of the souk and managed to bargain myself a white top to something closer to my financial situation. We caught the abra back to Bur Dubai, noticing our limited time for getting to the airport. I dragged Brendan through the markets and found myself a sari to match my newly acquired top. This time my bargaining powers worked a lot better and got my 6m long sari for 55 Dirham’s, instead of the 120 that he was originally asking.

We walked back to the hotel and grabbed out bags, jumped in a mildly air-conditioned taxi and made our way back to Dubai Airport. We worked out way thought the
Spice SoukSpice SoukSpice Souk

You can almost smell it just from looking!
maze of security checks and some how managed to get my suitcase through without having to pay for any extra luggage. Awesome!
We found a nice over priced café and while Brendan finished sipping his latte and played backgammon., I was off to the duty free shopping. I restrained myself to one large bottle of Malibu, for old time sake.

It was sad to leave, but the excitement on London made it worthwhile.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Abra Taxi BoatsAbra Taxi Boats
Abra Taxi Boats

Bit of a rough ride!
Burj Al ArabBurj Al Arab
Burj Al Arab

Seven Stars!... out of five
Sand CastlesSand Castles
Sand Castles

They all look the same...
Good Bye DubaiGood Bye Dubai
Good Bye Dubai

Check out that haze!


1st August 2006

Cool journal Hanz - keep it up ;) Shame there was no photos of you belly dancing though ;)
5th August 2006

Haha, they are still coming... maybe. I have to wait for Brendan to get back as they are on his camera...not sure how good they are tho!
11th August 2006

Vlog
Photoblogging is so 2005. Roll the video!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb