OMG, OMG, OMG!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
October 30th 2011
Published: October 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Alrightee - so we're back from an incredibly fun evening in the desert! Soooooo much fun - we headed out in 4x4 Toyota Landcruisers - 3 of us in each vehicle - and we were in a convoy.

On our way out of the city, we passed a Chinese Market - 1 km long inside - architecturally designed in the shape of a dragon - fascinating. Took a few photos of that.

Speaking of photos - I just uploaded them and they scrambled on me again - so, have fun figuring out which caption goes with each photo. It's late and I have an early wake-up call - so have fun with that!!! Should be pretty obvious, actually.

The ride through the desert was..........well.........hair-raising, to say the least. Safe, but..........oh, what a ride! I don't even go on 'those' kinds of rides with my grand-kids; but this was a unique adventure, so what the heck. The photos will speak for themselves. (Ron Baker - you would have LOVED the sand dunes with your dirt bike!!!!)

After that, we reached our BBQ destination - and the camels were waiting for us. Most of us had a camel ride and I caught as many people as I could on their camels. Quite fun!

The BBQ dinner was quite amazing - tandoori chicken, beef, lamb, taboulleh salad, humus, .........and baclava for dessert (sp?). It was all very good! If you saw my new photo on FB (my profile picture), you'll know that I am enjoying every bit of the food we are having, LOL! And I'm not alone on that.

Along with the camel ride, the BBQ dinner, there were henna tattoos available for everyone along with an area to experience the 'water pipes" (sheesha?) for smoking pleasure (hubbly-bubbly). Fun.

After dinner, we were entertained by an amazing belly dancer and music. Now, I took belly dancing classes last winter so I have a real, true-blue respect and appreciation for what she was doing - and she was awesome!!!!!!

And that was pretty much it! Back in the vehicles, back on the road - check out the temperature in our vehicle - photo below - and it's winter here!

Back to the hotel - back to bed - sweet dreams.

Tomorrow morning, we leave for Africa. This is the part of the trip that is the BIG dream for many here. Just know that I cannot guarantee any particular kind of internet connection - last time I did this trip, we were incommunicato (sp?) for the 3 days there - just warning all of you who are, by now, totally addicted to this daily blog!!!! But hey, you got 3 of them today alone!!!! - so, just know that if I can, I will; if I can't - we'll be back!!!!!

Stay tuned - there's more to come.

Good night, Mom - take care and get well. Love you lots!!!!

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



30th October 2011

Camel Rides
I have always wanted to ride a camel. Let me know what its like!!!
30th October 2011

your Mom
really enjoying the Dubai pics Pat..just to remind you that I live in Trenton and if I can do anything for your Mom while you are away, please let me know.
30th October 2011

Thank you!!!
Hi Pat - just wanted to thank you very much for your blog. It has allowed us to follow our Mom and Dad (Grandma and Papa) around the world and see pictures of what they have been doing (especially excited to see them on the camel!). We appreciate how much work it is for you, but sure enjoy and look forward to every new post. Have fun in Africa! Can't wait to see the pictures. From Donna and Denis' children and grandchildren.
31st October 2011

Funny Ride!!!
A ride in the desert, wow it was looking SO funny!!! Makes me remind my outback tour in the Australian desert :-)))
31st October 2011

LOVE YOUR COMMENTARY WITH PICTURES
I'm foloowing you as I was all booked up this fall (7-21 Nov I'm on a Safari in Tanzani and The Island of Zanzibar) I'm hoping to go on this trip next fall of 2012 if there is a SHARE. Ben knows of me and I have been in contact with him via Marth Kidd from this area.

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb