Laos to Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
March 9th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well hello bloggers………sorry for the deathly silence……. we have been busy having fun!!!!
Since Danny’s last blog we finally dragged ourselves away from Vang Vien….we headed south with our new buddies Lucky Dave and Emma to Vientiene - Laos’ capital city. To be honest the city wasn’t much so we looked to our trusty Lonely Planet to see what we could/should do………first thing under “activities” was 10 pin bowling – so armed with copious amounts of alcohol this is exactly what we did. I’m sure it was alcohol influenced, but the Beaumont’s were not victorious – but it was a really great afternoon of fun!
We spent the next morning chilling and eatin lots (basically the city is known for its french cuisine) – so we had pizza!!!!! And then thit a french bakery – then with our new pals headed to the Thai border to catch a sleeper train back to bangkok.
With Lucky Dave and his Whisky which was called “Manhood’ –me and Emma just giggled most of the way to Bangkok – Danny and Dave got plastered and were practically shouting at each other from the bunk beds – HILARIOUS! They were even told off for being too excitable by an old Thai lady!!t..this travelling is an adventure – oh and I forgot to mention the toilets – there were squat toilets which were just a big hole in the floor – once when the train jerked I thought I may lose my foot…not nice!!!

Anyhow, we made it to bangkok, with Dave and Em in toe we headed back to the Khoa San road (travellers row filled with market and nitgh life – for those who have not visited). Got a really nice pad, had a chill then Ems and I decided a relaxing facial would be nice….actually found the place I visited 8 years ago – but the facial was mental – it involved 30 mins of abuse where the beautician basically squeezed every inch of skins until you were red – she asked me if I normally wash my face – as I had so many blackheads….rude!!!!!! she then showed you a white tissue which was basically brown with all the gunk she had removed – gross……. anyhow emma looked red for a few hours afterwards – I was renamed by dave and danny as adrian mole aged 13 and ¾ as I basically looked like I had acne for 3 days!!!! After recovering from the mental trauma we decided shopping was once again the answer and we headed out to a huge a mall called NBC where they sell loads of electrical stuff. We bought a mini laptop which is ace (we can watch movies, download pics, email home more often!! Sorry mum!………… then we had a relatively chilled evening –ems and I headed home after the rugby which to be fair was about 2am for us – come on England!!…whilst the boys stayed out for a few…………Danny then spent 15 mins trying to get into the room as I was so tired his banging on the door and ringing the room did not work – dave these pics surface on the net – you are a dead man walking!!!!!
Next day, the boys excused themselves from more shopping and ems and I headed to asia’s largest market…..we got a free tuk tuk as we had to visit a tailors and pretend we wanted a coat (so the driver got free gas) apparently I wanted a green coat with red pockets – oscar worthy acting!!! Anyhow 4 hours of shopping later 3 dresses, sun glasses, 4 tops later we were shattered – a highlight was seeing a dog wearing converse shoes….weird!
We chilled out by the pool that pm then headed out to a different part of town so the boys could see a ping pong show…….em and I stayed at bar whilst the boys headed off to catch a show……..and being useless – instead of catching a show they ended up at a strip joint where they could pick up hookers……….they were quite proud of themselves when they returned a few hours later telling us that they had chatted to old english guys and now understood how all these old guys pick up and negotiate for women!! Anyway we headed back to Khoa San – again I headed home and didn’t wake up when danny got back…oooops!
Danny and Dave had a few more beers and actually got propositioned by a prostitute (or so say!) they put into use their barfgaining powers and were offered a quicky for 10 quid each – they assure me they refused!!!!!!!! They were quite proud of their bargaining technigue tho as they did proceed to mention it a few time!
Had a chill day the next day - bit of sun by the pool and I had my hair hi-lihted – couldn’t face being dark still! We decided the boys needed a chaperone to the ping pong show – so off we went to seedy-ville that evening……….we found a show which saw a woman ping darts (out of her private parts) at a balloon – the dart nearly hit danny!!! We saw a woman whistle and then came the ping pong show…….u rgh…..we actually got hit by wet balls…………oh and saw some ladyboys……we lasted about 20 mins before it was all too much – we headed back for a dance at an r and b joint – the boys just watched birmingham v arsenal – but it was fun to chill and emma and I hit the dance floor.
Final day in bangkok – again lots of chilling by the pool – had a body massage which was ace and then we had to say teary goodbyes to em and dave (ps did you get married in las vegas?) we then headed off to dubai for a few days…….
Dubai….the adventure continues – this place (which I had visited for a few days before) was insane – it is so clean and modern and nothing like India …..Laos etc) we have a great hotel and washing machine so we have been crazily sorting outselves out pre our africa adventure.
We weren;t sure what to do so we decided to splash out a get a big bus ticket to see a bit of the city. It lasted 24 hours so we decided at 3pm to start and do the beach route and see the BergAlArab and the Palm and the indoor ski slope – I can’t get over how many malls this place has!!!!!
I am on a strict shopping free zone and after East Asia this place does feel mega expensive!!!! Our appartment has cooking facilties so like the good wife that I am we headed home for more washing and a jacket potato and cauliflower cheese (this is what I have been dreaming of for weeks!)
Day 2 – Dubai and we did the second bus route in the mroning – did a little river ccruise and got to see the gold and spice souk – dany was rubbish and would hardly let me window shop…..!!!!!! I did point out a few diamond related articles but he was having none of it!!!
We headed back to our place did a workout before heading out to meet a friend of mine from Reading (Foxy – who actually lives on the palm - awesome ) and Danny also realised that an old uni bud (Andy Owen) was out here. Was great to see some old faces (not just danny’s ugly mug! – we had a few drinks (and I only mean a few and it cost 100 quid!!! ) It was nice to chill at a nice bar but I now understand why this place is tax free – alcohol is a duty in its own right…….sorry – travellers budget talking…….anyhow had a very nice evning and headed home by taxi – we saw the city (sky scrapers) all lit up by night which was cool.
Today we have had a chill and I am currently typing this on our way to Nairobi, we are very excited about starting our tour and I am hoping to meet up with my buddy Aleem (from uni and law school – which will be amazing!)

GOODBYE ASIA………
So I guess goodbye asia – hello Africa……. To Summarise – bit of a tricky start with india as it is so underdeveloped and not really ready for travelers..or women!
I wasn;t well for Cambodia but the temples of Anchor Watt were amazing! Vietnam is like no other place in the world – I loved Saigon and learning about the war, Hoi Ann was fab as it was shopping/tailor heaven and Halong Bay (albeit cold) was beautiful! Laos is probably my fave country so far – more chilled out than the rest – we met some really nice people – Ed and Justine and had a great time at elephant village and then tubing with the gang - Em, Dave, Ash, Mel and Ben was brill……..oh and seeing quiet Paul (snake bile drinker) in the evening post tubing – was hilarious ,,he was so loud (1 bottle of whisky later – we spent an our trying to get him home when he just wanted to party – hilarious!!)
Ok, I have probably put everyone to sleep…danny is trying to read over my shoulder and is reminding me that in fact my spots have now gone down and I am not actualy adrian mole therefore people don’t actaully want to know my inner-most thoughts – ie stop boring everyone to death……….so for now-over and out…until next time!!!!!

xxxx


Advertisement



9th March 2011

Top Blog!!
Carrie, Had to leave a comment after all the effort you went to writing that blog. Have to say i'm very impressed that you're both keeping it up! Fab to hear all about your adventures - am going to show Al and see if I can convince him that we should go travelling! Have an amazing time in Africa!! Ty xx

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb