DXB


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Abu DhabiAbu DhabiAbu Dhabi

and the Persian Gulf
Well now I'm at the end of my Dubai UAE experience. It was great. Everyone should come! I think anything anyone ever told me about this place was right off the mark, really, it's great! And the people, so wonderful, friendly, honest, helpful, unique. Further to my other entries, I was also able to get to the far east coast were UAE meets the Indian Ocean (very near the Oman border) as well as the capital Abu Dhabi (that's just fun to say). Did some shoppin / hagglin where I employed the Thomas T 'special price' technique which really worked like a charm! Found my cheapest (and very tasty) meal was a pop and a big bag of fresh, hot, delicious veggie pakoras...total price 2 dirhams or about .60. Yes, it's true you can spend a lot of money here, accommodation isn't cheap, but you don't have to. I want to come back, maybe in 5 years when the majority of the construction is over and i can see it all has come to fruition. (and www.google.ae types from the right!)

So...I'm at the airport...been here a VERY long time. First I felt gypped because the airport I was looking
UAE MountainsUAE MountainsUAE Mountains

on the way to the east coast
forward to, the one shown on the airports web site, I quickly discovered is just a mock up of the 'new' airport they are building right next door. WHAT?! But now that I'm checked in and in the 'Star Alliance' lounge (one of only two, the other in Switzerland) I feel better. Modern, sleek but still doesn't beat YVR...lacks plane spotter views and snack variety but I'm holding a nice frosty beer, Hello magazine, and typing on a computer...7/10. This flight takes me to Frankfurt then...onto Cairo (oh boy...)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ahhhh...ahhhh...
ahhhh...

The Indian Ocean from the UAE
CamelsCamels
Camels

slippery guys to catch on camera...but trust me...they were everywhere!


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb