Dubai Tennis


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
February 23rd 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cooler weather during the February months means the only time possible to play sports here is now so this is the time that world class sports hit Dubai. When I was there the Dubai Tennis open was on… Female’s week

Some of these girls are so hot I don’t know how the opposition can concentrate. When I was a young teenager I use to play tennis. But when I hit my mid teens I changed sports to rugby league. I can’t believe my dad allowed me to play Rugby league during my mid teens. I enjoyed the team camaraderie but with the knowledge that I now have if I have a son and he does the same as me. I won’t allow it, even if he hates tennis! I’ll say, “No son, you’ll thank me. Give it 2 years.” I suppose at the time when I went through the transition, the tennis world had Martina Navratilova, Conchita Martinez and Wendy Turnbell. Non of the ‘ic’s’ or ‘ski’s’ at the time. So you can be forgiven dad.

Every time I watch women’s tennis I think, “Oh what you’re kidding me!” And whilst on this occasion the thought did cross my mind. I did have other things to entertain my mind.

This was the first time I had seen Arabs appreciate sport (was going to see races but it was day time and I wanted a night race.) And tennis is not really the best sport to capture it. Not too many people were there, it was the 2nd round. Instead it was mostly the ball boys and girls that kept me entertained. They had no idea. Balls were going everywhere for a period. Girl not knowing where to put the towel before a serve, a boy trying to grab 4 balls in his one little hand.

I watched Australia’s Samantha Stosur choke in 3 sets. During that match it was towards the middle of the day so a prey came out from the nearby mosque. That must be a different experience for the tennis players. There was also a wheelchair linesman which I thought shit why isn’t there more of them?

After seeing Safina (no.2 in world) lose and Venus Williams bore me to death I went to the outside court to see the bean pole which is Hantuchova but before she played there was a big line up and pushing and shoving. I soon clicked “that’s right there is an Indian tennis player.” That was a different experience watching tennis with Indians. “ooooooo” “aaaahhh”… She lost.

Stayed for the night matches and saw Serena Williams and Dementiava The whole time I was afraid the big African security guards would ask me to leave because my camera was classed as “professional.” Only non-pro cameras were allowed. After 10 hours of strategic positioning and my last photo I got caught out and asked to leave, I was on my way out anyway. So especially for all you boys out there… Enjoy!



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Sara ErraniSara Errani
Sara Errani

Against Seena Williams 3 Setter best match all day.
Kaia Kanepi vs Sania MirzaKaia Kanepi vs Sania Mirza
Kaia Kanepi vs Sania Mirza

This is the Estonian vs the Indian.
Venus WilliamsVenus Williams
Venus Williams

Boring game to watch that match


7th March 2009

I'm back.
I will be out of Iran this Thursday so expect an avalanche of blog entries. If you have the time they will be worth a read. When I finish them of course.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb