And we danced the night away!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 21st 2007
Published: November 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

Oh, what a night! I left off yesterday telling you that we were heading out to the desert for the evening. A convoy of 21 white Toyota SUVs took us all out to the BBQ site.

Our driver gave us "a bit of a ride" when we hit the sand dunes. I'm sure that Seth and Susan, who were driving along with me, would have preferred to have a little more excitement; Don Wharin and I preferred a bit of a calmer ride. It was a happy compromise and enjoyable for all!

We pulled into the BBQ site and were welcomed by one of the young fellows who was holding a falcon. This is something that Carroll really wanted to do, so I captured the photo moment for her. The area was beautifully decorated with colorful tents, little bonfires here and there, a BBQ area set up, a tent in which a lady in a Burkha was doing henna tattoos, and so on. It was a sight to behold and quite magical!

Each table was set with appetizers, which were very tasty and similar to the ones that I had at lunch that day. Dinner was a smorg of choices: chicken, fish, lamb, beef, rice, salads, and so on and so on. Highlights of the evening included a camel ride for everyone (I didn't get a lot of those pictures because I was getting my henna tattoo), and the belly dancing that took place after dinner. From the gales of laughter throughout the evening, I would venture to say that a good time was had by all! It was a gorgeous evening, still a bit warm for me (especially sitting inside the tents). But I'm not whining because I know what some of you are "living" temperature-wise these days.

I know that the pictures will tell the story, so enjoy! Today, we head out on a city tour of Dubai, which includes a stop at the Dubai Museum, the souk markets and the Mall. More on that later. Tomorrow..........off to Africa!

(Good night, Mom. I love you!)

Happy Pat




Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Refreshments for everyone......Refreshments for everyone......
Refreshments for everyone......

Beer and wine were served to all.
Little cuties!Little cuties!
Little cuties!

I know the picture isn't the best, but I couldn't resist including them in the blog. They were so cute, sitting in the tent while everyone got a tattoo.
What a way to BBQ!!!!!What a way to BBQ!!!!!
What a way to BBQ!!!!!

Chicken, lamb, beef..........
And I got one too!And I got one too!
And I got one too!

We had been at the mall earlier and I wanted to get one, but we ran out of time. Little did I know.......that she would be at our dinner event!
This is what it looks like, up closeThis is what it looks like, up close
This is what it looks like, up close

It was like cake decorating! Once the henna dries, it falls off and leaves the tattoo on your skin which lasts for about 10 days.
The "dream team" becomes the "scream team"The "dream team" becomes the "scream team"
The "dream team" becomes the "scream team"

I thought it would be easier this year.....!
Whoa, baby!!!!!!Whoa, baby!!!!!!
Whoa, baby!!!!!!

Carroll and Fay, following us


21st November 2007

Courageous & Happy Pat
Congratulations on getting on the camel again this year. I must admit you look every bit as terrified as you did last year. I love the henna tattoo! Be careful the next one will be real!
22nd November 2007

Camel riding
Well, Brenda, that picture of you riding a camel definately brings back memories!! Did you tell everyone that you are an 'experienced camel-handler' ?? Looks like you are all having a fabulous time and we are really enjoying reading and seeing pics of your tour. love, Meran and Doug, Florida.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb