Coming to an End


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
January 29th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our Dubai FamilyOur Dubai FamilyOur Dubai Family

...not all, some were re-filling their glasses....
Dubai has been home for us for the last 12 months, still we have not found our feet in this city of Bling. We are generally opened to conversation and learnings that provide a new culture, but a year seems to have past rushing by and no deep understanding of this place has been achieved.... Yes, I suppose I feel frustrated with my incompetence to feel grounded in the place we've called home for a year, however I also feel relieved when I remember new adventures are heading our way and a plane will be flying us to new pastures in 6 weeks....am I wrong? Have I lost sight of the traveler’s passion to learn, to be able to admire even the dirtiest of roads and enjoy the craziest of foods while in alien lands?....

Dubai has given us chaotic traffic jams, inexplicable car accidents, the constant honking of car horns, the heat, the non-existent side-walks, the heat, the shopping, shopping, shopping, the racism, the unbearable lightness of being not who you are, but WHO you know...

Cynic? Me?...well, could be....I will take with me few regrets and many memorable memories... the warmth of my work team, now friends,
 golden souq golden souq golden souq

Ceci feeling the bling bling...
with whom we created a home far away from home and a family far away form our loved ones, the endless dessert sunsets, the echoes of peaceful prayers along the wind, the misplaced camels along the roads.... but I'll also carry with me the beatings of discovering that in this fast moving, ever growing city, who you are, how you are or what you know is not important....Life is limited by how many asses you can kiss, how many slaps you can endure and how many people you know that have the "power" to take you places....

Cynic or not, I believe in respect for everyone, in equality, in balance.....perhaps, after all I am not just cynic, but pleasantly naive and easily disappointed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

360o360o
360o

the path to heaven


5th February 2007

Good Luck!!
Hello Guys!! Hope your last weeks in Dubai go smoothly. Really looking forward meeting up in London!! Lost of Love! c

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb