making the best of it


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Al Ain
September 29th 2010
Published: September 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This blog is mostly pictures. The pictures are detailed to give my mom an Idea of what the lay out of the apartment looks like so she can give me some interior decorating ideas.
Pictures of Al Ain Mall,and Our apartment, roundabouts and forts. Im over being sad about my new apartment and Im making the best of it.

I am looking forward to moving out of the resort. I am getting to know my way around. I love that there is so much to do here for families. and it is all Halaal! We havent really gone anywhere because we are preparing to move. Trying to buy furniture and stuff.





Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

entranceentrance
entrance

living room/dining room where Abdullah is standing. Kitchen and 1st bathroom to right. bedrooms to left.
Hallway to the right of entrance of Apart.Hallway to the right of entrance of Apart.
Hallway to the right of entrance of Apart.

hallway leads to bedrooms. one to the left with bathroom, down hallway master bathroom & bedroom. Kids room
Maids Quarter/3rd bdrmMaids Quarter/3rd bdrm
Maids Quarter/3rd bdrm

This is the room I hated maids room supposedly, no windows pretty small but does have a bathroom attached
basin & toilet  roombasin & toilet  room
basin & toilet room

to left of entrance across from kitchen


30th September 2010

Your Apartment
Assalamu Alakium, Once you get your thing there you will make it feel like home. As for your view inshallah they will place an amazing photo on it..... The hallway in your apartment looks wide, the tile floors and bathroom is a bonus not gross rugs to pull out.... YOu will make it look amazing!!
30th September 2010

Well I finally got caught up... It is amazing, YOU are amazing... I wish the best for all of you , you are so missed here ...Please keep the blogs coming I enjoy them soooooooooooooo much!!! Love you!
30th September 2010
My new apartment 013

LOL Guurrrl fix ya face, my poor baby, you look like you're going to your doom! You didn"t even bother to coordinate your pin with your clothes LMBBO!
30th September 2010
Maids Quarter/3rd bdrm

If you didn't want to use this as a bedroom for one of the kids I would use it as a multi-function room. ex; since u don't have closets, go to Walmart LOLOLOL and find those portable "closets" remember the one I had for Amani? Put a couple of those in there for hanging clothes. a desk for homework, toys etc. Use it for things that you need but don't want to clutter and already small place. Got me darling?
30th September 2010
kitchen

ok, it looks like that washer will fit in that space, no? and where's the dryer? Where's the maintenance man? The washer either has to fit in that space or over to the side, tell me it's NOT expected to stay right there???? that would be just plain stupid! Say it isn't so.....
30th September 2010
My new apartment 041

The cabinets are quite different, they look like shutters. NOT TOO BAD REALLY, YOU CAN WORK WITH IT. IF THERE ARE WINDOWS IN THE KITCHEN maybe that will brighten it up, a couple of nice stools at the counters for eating a quick breakfast. Pretty colorful dish towels...where's the stove? ok, maybe I haven't gotten to it yet. Can't that washer fit anywhere?????
30th September 2010
little pantry in kitchen

maybe u could put a dryer in there, how will u dry your clothes? If you don't/can't have a dryer, the a drying rack or two will have to do, put it in the pantry! If you have other alternatives for drying then put a curtain in front of it and somebody (not mentioning any names) could sleep there :) ok ok, not funny! heh...it's difficult to say with out physically seeing, however great the photos are. But bottom line, try to utilize the spaces you do have as multi-purposely as you can, so that you won't feel suffocated in the rooms you "live/sleep" in.
30th September 2010
basin & toilet  room

what is that white thing above the sink?
30th September 2010
Main Bathroom

nice tub, looks the the bathrooms would be easy to clean.
30th September 2010
Main Bathroom

a great big HUGE plant over there in the corner! Nice :)
30th September 2010
MY ROOM!!!

Is that a closet???? YAAAYYY Shakirah, it really doesn't look to be much smaller than your bedroom in warwick ? Did you guys realize you'd have to buy furnature, just asking. Keep it simple! Don't try to "hook" it up as if you were in your own house. a nice comfy bed, one bureau. If u really want "night" tables, how about light weight plexi-glass or those tube shaped thingy's, light weight so that you can change things around when you get bored. Try to find things that you can store things in yet are able to use the tops! Like all the hasocks in my house. The tops come off for storage, but you can put books, trays when you want to sit and have something to eat or use as a foot stool and they move easily from room to room, space to space.
30th September 2010
Kids Room

WOW they really got dark LOL the kids I mean :) anyway, here again, just twin beds and a table between them. Try to get things that can be used as other things. colorful things on the wall, like similar things they had at home, things that express who they are, because the main focus is THEIR HAPPINESS, right? :)
30th September 2010
My new apartment 055

Hey u got closets! I guess you thought there weren't any huh? Shakirah, it really doesn't seem so bad at all, the only thing I can see that would really piss me off would be the washer in the position it is in now, I mean, if that can't be moved and you have to work with that where it is, grrrrrr put a cover over it and use it as a table or something when you're not washing clothes! LOL Other than that, it's not a bad place. maybe they should'nt have shown you "opulence" first LOLOLOLOL
30th September 2010
Living Room /Dining Room

The walls and floors are very very clean, I like that :) What floor are you on? Do you have to have curtains? Again, don't try to furnish the place as if it were your home, remember, this is temporary!!! I would try and find a place that can sell me what I need and then buy it back when my term is up!
30th September 2010
My new apartment 058

oh how I miss my babies :/ Remember, they will emulate your disposition, keep your chin up...this life is but fleeting and everything is ALHAMDULILAH!
30th September 2010
My new apartment 059

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the vents in the floor, tell me they are for water when you clean? That would make things soooooo much easier and sanitary. I would get me a little garden hose and when I wanted to clean I would soap up the entire place and then hose it down with hot water!!!!! Can you see the smile on my face? LMBBO!
30th September 2010
Najd outside in hallway

the mirror is a very good accessory to brighten a room and have it appear larger, are there mirrors in most rooms, if not, you could get some and hang them wherever you wanted a ager appearance. Put things beside it and/or in front (but away) from it that will reflect the image. Very nice touch.
30th September 2010
My wonderful View...Not!!

uuurrrgghhhh lol where the heck is this a view from? bedroom, living room, kitchen what? What floor are you on?
30th September 2010
Main Hallway to elevators

I love the cleanliness, looks very nice.
30th September 2010
Going Up!

my baby! going up to what...6th floor?
1st October 2010

Gurl, fix your face
That was my fixed face!,lol
1st October 2010

maids room
Ok we have a storage closet/room so I will use that for storage. the center room pictured will be used for a office/playroom/prayer room General activity place
1st October 2010

washer
lol No the washer is now pushed in. It was like that because maintainance had to come and connect it. By the way He never returned our keys I told my husband hes probably off making copies for his friends!!! There are no dryers here! Some one said she did find on and it was very expensive. But from what I have seen its just different degrees of wringing out water. We have a balconly its so hot clothes dry in no time.
1st October 2010

cabinets
I actually like the cabinets! there is a large window in the kitchen. At the time of these pics we hadnt gotten our stove yet or our refridgerator. WE have them now! I will have to take a new pic! The washer is in place. It needed to be connected to the water and the stove needed to be connected to the gas, but everything is in!
1st October 2010

little pantry room in kitchen
I wanted to put our microwave in there on a cart and put some shelves there for storage. My husband preferred the microwave on the counter so it is on the counter for now. We will see how it goes!
1st October 2010

white thing above the sink
that is a shelf. One good thing about this apartment is it has 3 bathrooms!
1st October 2010

huge plant in corner
The shower is also there so I dont think a plant will work in that spot because of the water.
1st October 2010

master Bedroom
that is not a closet that is the balcony!. This bedroom is larger than mine in warwick its a nice size! I like it. Its not so much the aprtment. Its more the surroundings. and living with thousands of others. I will take pictures. These large complexes that block the sun from reaching you!. We found a used bedroom set came with bed, 2 night tables, and a wardrobe, and dressing table and chair :)
1st October 2010

kids room
they also need a wardrobe in their room for their clothes. We are amzed at how dark they are they look like they just came from India, lol!!!!
1st October 2010

closet
That is the only closet in the house. It is a linen closet outside the bathroom! The apartment is ok, now that I have excepted the fact that they are not going to give us a villa. It just living......I will take pictures. One picture speaks a thousand words.
1st October 2010

wlls, floor, furnishings
I have not gotten curtains yet, even though its temporary, whatever we use here will be moved into another apartment, IF AND WHEN we move and thats a HUGE if and when. because apartments are so hard to get here and your not allowed to own property. and it seems this (emirates) will be our new home. right now I am trying to get what we need and to organize well!
1st October 2010

vents on the floor are for water
We did Exactly that! We soaped up and scrubbed all the tile on walls and floors and rinsed it down with the istinja hose and shower head and down the drain it went. The tile had a lot of dust and grout on them. Dust from sand. grout from idiots who dont clean up after they do their work! But it was great being able to hose the place down. we still have some more to do though
1st October 2010

mirror accessory
that is not a mirror in the picture that is outside ou apartment in the hallway across from the elevators and that is a breaker box, lol
1st October 2010

Mall contstuction view
That is the view from my kitchen and living room/dining room. Lovely isnt it. I will post the views from my bedroom and kids room, its another building just like ours. I want Wendys view Pyramids...lol
1st October 2010

what floor are we on?
second
2nd October 2010

I'm really glad you seem to be excepting what you viewed as your plight. Really, the apt doesn't seem that bad especially since they put that washer in a provided space LOL I'm relieved LOL I hope you're stove and refrigerator are ones you will like also. hey A BALCONY off the master bedroom, C'mon that must be cool right? Shakirah, everything is going to work out fine. Just think, you are in a place that you wished to be in, with halal almost everything! SUBHANALLAH, truly you are blessed, count these blessing and the rest will also work out...Be Safe, Be Well and Be at Peace...I Love You :) your mother

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb