Desert Heat


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
October 31st 2015
Published: October 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Emeriates PalaceEmeriates PalaceEmeriates Palace

Me standing at the entryway to the palace.
After spending an entire day on an airplane, I was beyond excited to stretch my legs in Abu Dhabi. I had planned a rather relaxed trip with a lot of wiggle room for exploration. And I am so glad I did because I came across some great things that I would never found otherwise.



After the plane landed, I hopped onto the public bus and made my way downtown. As expected, it was extremely hot and humid. Waiting at the bus stop was not an enjoyable experience, but it was well worth the $1.50 fare. Once I was in the city, I wandered around a bit and began to notice just how many mosques were scattered throughout the city. Each one was different and I was enjoying their unique styles, until I realized just how hot the desert can get. So I made my way to my first stop.



The Emirates Palace was something that I had read about and gained interest in for a number of reasons. First, the architecture, not only of the palace itself, but the surrounding buildings as well. Second, the history and uniqueness of the palace. And finally, I knew
ArchitectureArchitectureArchitecture

Abu Dhabi has some unique buildings in their city limits. This photo was taken out the front of the Emirates Palace.
I was going to be really hungry and was going to want a good snack. I decided to have high tea in one of the cafes, which was fantastic as you can expect. The cappuccino was adorned with gold flakes and the pastries were delicious. Needless to say, I was satisfied with the experience I had at the palace.



After a stroll along Corniche Beach, the lengthy and warm beach that borders the city, I made my way over to the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. Since it was Friday, the biggest prayer day, the mosque was not open to the public until late in the afternoon. This worked out fantastically for me because I had some of the most spectacular views of the mosque that I would have not seen had the sun been up. The entire mosque is made of marble and is adorned with jewels in a way that I have never seen before. It was as if the entire inside was sparkling under the moonlight. It was truly a sight to behold. After spending a significant amount of time wandering the grounds, I had to make my way back to the airport to catch
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque

Loving the way the mosque is lit up at night!
the last leg of my flight.



All in all, Abu Dhabi was a pleasant surprise, as I knew it would be. It was like the Middle East had met NYC and added its own unique cultural flair to every aspect. A great way to spend a day in the desert.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Formula One RacewayFormula One Raceway
Formula One Raceway

Flying over the Ferrari racetrack on my way into UAE.
Downtown MosqueDowntown Mosque
Downtown Mosque

One of the mosques that was scattered in the heart of Abu Dhabi
Palace GatesPalace Gates
Palace Gates

Me standing outside the Emirates Palace gates.
Emirates Palace DomeEmirates Palace Dome
Emirates Palace Dome

The interior of the dome at the Emirates Palace
Golden CappuccinoGolden Cappuccino
Golden Cappuccino

The beverage served with my high tea at the palace. Adorned with 24 carat gold flakes.
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque
Sheikh Zayed Mosque

All marble mosque in Abu Dhabi
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque
Sheikh Zayed Mosque

A reflecting pool outside the Mosque walls.
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque
Sheikh Zayed Mosque

Captured this photo as the mosque was lit and the sun was almost down.
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque
Sheikh Zayed Mosque

The interior of the main dome of the mosque. Adorned with a fabulous jeweled chandelier that made the entire room glow.
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque
Sheikh Zayed Mosque

The chandelier that hangs in the main dome was made up of many different jewels that sparkled in the light.
Sheikh Zayed MosqueSheikh Zayed Mosque
Sheikh Zayed Mosque

Adorned with numerous water features, the grounds were really something else.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb