Security


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

A ScarA ScarA Scar

To prove it.
The Middle East has had a higher than normal profile in the press recently, Hosni Mubarak has been ousted and is now hiding in Sharm El Sheikh, a curious place to hide given the Mossad trained sharks that cruise the waters there.

There are violent protests in Bahrain and Yemen, and the ever present behind-the-scenes meddling from Iran. There may well be other things going on, but its no secret that pretty much all of the press in the region is state controlled, they've even cottoned on to international news sites and the likes of Facebook and Twitter getting news out, and they are restricted. Even Blackberry Instant Messenger is government controlled, although I find it difficult to see how the ability to send someone a very small grainy photo and a four second voice recording would significantly contribute to regime change.

Maybe I am suffering from cognitive reticence caused by my recent harrowing incarcerations in Frankfurt Airport and up in the desert. Maybe the crime novel cliché where the police can spot someone who has been in prison by their deportment is true. Maybe I now have the look of a man who been up to the edge, had a quick peek over it, decided that he didn't really want to go over the edge, stepped back and then walked away from the edge. Maybe that is even worse than actually going over the edge.

They say that a man is most dangerous when he has nothing left to lose, but I would argue against that. Surely Muammar Gaddafi with his vast personal wealth, tyrannical grip over a country, links to all manner of unsavoury illegal organisations and control of armed forces has far more to lose and is considerably more dangerous than a naked, homeless, penniless man with poor physical and mental health and no friends or family or ambition?

Either way, every time they install the metal detector and X-Ray scanner at the entrance to the Beach Rotana I feel that I am personally being singled out for persecution. This all started with the first Formula One in Abu Dhabi in 2009. Since then, every time there is a high profile event, out comes the security. They tried to take my pocket knife off me the other day, even though it is perfectly legal to carry here.

"No knives allowed in the complex, sir." said the guard on the gate. Sarcastic inflexion on the "sir".

"So what happens if I walk into any one of the eight award-winning restaurants within this complex and order a steak?" I ask him.

"You'll get a steak?"

"Yes, and they will also give me knife with a four inch serated blade, a bigger knife than the one you are telling me I can't bring in, which is incidentally the same pocket knife I've been bringing in here for five years. If I wanted to get my hands on something a bit bigger, I'd just walk in to any of the eight totally unguarded kitchens and take my pick from the impressive array of cutlery therein."

He had no reply to that, and after a few seconds uncomfortable silence, a ripple of applause erupted spontaneously around the packed auditorium.

Of course, that last thing didn't happen, I live in the real world, not a shit film written by Richard Curtis. All there was around me were people putting their bag in the scanner and walking though the detector, not giving a toss about my self important views on hypocrisy.

The irony of the situation is that the extra security is place because IDEX (International Defence Exhibition) is in town. Half of the West side of the island is closed to the public so that the world's arms manufacturers can demonstrate their tanks and missiles and the arms dealers can do their deals. The hotels and restaurants are full of people in suits with brochures on the tables showing the very latest technology in ways to kill and maim. Billions of dollars will change hands this week. The only living thing I've ever cut with my knife is my own hand, by accident, and I've got the scars to prove it.











Advertisement



22nd February 2011

Rant over is it Ali!!!????
Bla bla bla!
22nd February 2011

No irony that your account is followed by "Abu Dhabi Hotels - 60% Special Internet Discount". Taken together, this is a very subtle form of advertising.
26th February 2011

roflol agreed!
Oh my word I know how you feel. I went to A Loft the other night, my girlfriends and I love the vibe on a tuesday or thursday at relax @ 12, we've become so regular that when we walk in, the girls dont even need to name what cocktails we'll be having, our waitress know us by name and visa versa. Ill admit we were all a little stuiped but all we usually rock up with is our work id cards and cash and mobiles in our pockets, we're not the girly carry a big ass bag type. Anyways when we arrived, 1. The usual bouncers, managers and waitresses were NO WHERE to be found, its like they all got suddenly fired! I did however have some 6ft 9' gaint inform me that the ladies night would not be happening as usual and that because of the Conference we were not allowed in???????????????This is where I said hold up! So your best customers, the people that spend generally over half there salary with you, every week, the people that have actually grown your brand name by endorsing all their clients to use you, in any situation, personal or business, theyre not allowed in because, theres a one week exhibition on and we may just blow up a place we adore? Yes this seemed to make sense to him and now if we can all please leave as we are holding up the line! We have also suddenly gotten a huge bad scanner in the lobby of my office, lol makes one feel so safe doesnt it? aah the world. I guess every one is just tense at the moment because of all this fighting that is going on everywhere, so right now everyone is a threat!....talk about ambush marketing..........
4th March 2011

Frak me
Frak me ...you were going off on one there matey boy!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb