Hello again from Abu Dhabi....been awhile!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
February 12th 2011
Published: February 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Gingerbread Man...The Gingerbread Man...The Gingerbread Man...

...stick puppet play. They all new the words by the end of the week..."Run, run as fast as you can..." so cute...keep in mind these kids knew very little English
Greetings family and friends!

It has been awhile since I have been here. Nothing much to report. I have simply been absorbed in second term since I got back from Christmas holidays.

I started to take piano lessons (something I have ALWAYS wanted to do but never had the time...now I do). I found my teacher on a website similar to Kijiji here, called "Dubizzle". Her name is Mercy and she is from the Philippines and is simply lovely!

After holidays we started a unit at school about 'community helpers'. I have attached some photos from one or two of the helpers we learned about. We had our "Celebration of Learning" to end the unit this past Thurs. and now we are about to begin learning about the "Olympics". I am heading up the whole week ending with 'Olympic Day' that will include 12 events, medals, the whole 'shabang'! I have been very excited about planning this and my principal and faculty head have been VERY supportive. Stay tuned for pics in a couple weeks....

Last night I headed to Yas Island with a couple friends to see Eric Clapton kick off his world tour. All I will say (aside from a great performance from Mr. Clapton, although not the best 'showman' I have seen) is that I will NEVER attend a concert there again. It was General Admission and people were crammed in like sardines. I would have much preferred to head to Dubai to see Tiger Woods play in the Dubai Golf Championship, same price for tickets and a much better atmosphere I am sure.....oh well, live and learn as they say (nothing will top Bon Jovi in concert anyhow).


I have attached some pics to go with my entry. Enjoy and stay tuned. Lots coming up in the near future with Olympic Day AND my trip to Ireland with Mark in March...can't wait, only 42 more sleeps!

Halas...............hum-do-la-la.....lol........xo

P.S. I almost forgot to tell ya.....We have a holiday next Thursday (one of the deceased Profits b-day), so long weekend coming up!! Next Friday (17th) I am participating in the Terry Fox Run...YES, they have one here. Apparently, it takes place now in over 50 countries. I am really excited...8km...gonna wear my Canada t-shirt OF COURSE. I'll have some pics of that day for you also.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Our Gingerbread Man cookie bake..Our Gingerbread Man cookie bake..
Our Gingerbread Man cookie bake..

..we have this awesome kitchen at school with NO oven, so I talked the principal into purchasing a small oven for us to bake with....mixing the ingredients...
This activity has yet to be beaten...This activity has yet to be beaten...
This activity has yet to be beaten...

...in terms of having their sustained attention....lol
Roll a dough and put in on a pan...Roll a dough and put in on a pan...
Roll a dough and put in on a pan...

...yes, we sang that also...lol
I did the rolling...I did the rolling...
I did the rolling...

...but they each got to cut 2 cookies
The Baker ( Abdulla).....The Baker ( Abdulla).....
The Baker ( Abdulla).....

...ready for the oven
In they go....In they go....
In they go....

..."now you stay put Gingerbread man"...they kids loved that!
Halas! (means finished in Arabic)..Halas! (means finished in Arabic)..
Halas! (means finished in Arabic)..

...they got to eat one at school and we wrapped the other one for them to take home
Our classroom door...Our classroom door...
Our classroom door...

...Community Helpers....for this unit
Our numeracy bulletin board...Our numeracy bulletin board...
Our numeracy bulletin board...

...adding and subtracting..they did well!
...our Literacy Board........our Literacy Board.....
...our Literacy Board.....

...lots of amazing accomplishments, technology, writing, and FUN! I am proud of these..had fun putting them together
Our FIRST excursion.....(not too common here, aside from the mall)Our FIRST excursion.....(not too common here, aside from the mall)
Our FIRST excursion.....(not too common here, aside from the mall)

...to the fire station. Our next Community Helper was firefighter
Khalid......Khalid......
Khalid......

...had to be the first to try on the hat/helmet
Now this guy...Hamed...Now this guy...Hamed...
Now this guy...Hamed...

...my little "he devil"...every class has one... "get your hand off that!" LOL


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb