TAXI! part 2


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On the way into work this morning the radio news told of a protest in Musaffah by drivers for a taxi firm complaining about a new system of fines that their employer was introducing if they were at fault in an accident, sorry, traffic colision; accident implies there is nobody to blame.

The fines are a bit steep, up to 5,000 Dirhams (900 quid at today's rate) and cosidering they earn about 3,500 Dirhams (600 quid) a month, its a considerable amount to them.

One of the protesting cabbies is quoted:

"We work such long hours and end up exhausted. We're prone to driving errors"

I'm not sure if that is really helping the cause.

I've stopped bothering to call the "Am I drive safely?" numbers on the backs of trucks and vans any more. I phoned a bus driver training company to report one of there learner busses that was swerving across three lanes so erratically I couldn't get past it and the bloke to me that I should be careful around learners as they were "very dangerous".

You can see the full story here:

Gulf News Article


Advertisement



14th June 2010

"Am I driving safely?"
I always liked the Jasper Carrott take on "Am I driving safely?" "He's driving really close behind and looks very aggressive. AND NOW HE'S USING HIS MOBILE PHONE.....!"

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb