Bonsai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
December 12th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

FoolFoolFool

"He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever."
Anyone who knows me will testify that I am a deeply spiritual person. Over years of study, devotion, personal denial and temperence, I have gained an extensive knowledge of many belief systems and a great respect for religion of all kinds, and the values and traditions they represent. I am equally comfortable in a church as I am in a temple, mosque, up a mountain with my head shaved and wrapped in an orange sheet or in a police cell after a heavy evening expanding my mind on an astral plane trying to explain that I don't know how those mushrooms got in my car and could I please have my pants back.

It is so easy in this modern day of email, intrawebs, internets, faxes, brushless tip-ex and mobile phones that allow you to send a small grainy image across a room for a pound to forget the spiritual side that makes us what we are. It is in the ordered chaos of the workplace that I find a little Zen goes a long way, and no two things go together as well as the ancient art of hachi-no-ki (or bonsai as it became known in the 19th century)
The FutureThe FutureThe Future

"The Future is just like now, but a bit later on"
and the ubiquitous starchy tuber known as the potato.

So when things get me down, I shut the office door, sprinkle a few jasmine leaves into my tea pot and spend a few moments nurturing my Bonsai Spud. Once you have seen the beauty of nature on this scale, you can’t help but believe.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FishFish
Fish

"Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach a man how to fish and you keep him out of your hair all weekend"
CockCock
Cock

"A man can have many hens, but no more than two cocks"


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb