First impressions: right and wrong


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
August 27th 2005
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me, Anca and AlinutzaMe, Anca and AlinutzaMe, Anca and Alinutza

after our first day at work :D
1st week passed already. It's very interesting. I found more positive things than expected. Some were funny..some interesting and some totally wrong. For example I left home all my skirts and several sexy shirts I had, thinking that I'm going to a Muslim country that needs respect. But it was WRONG. Girls here are very open and when I say that means that they are not covered, on the contrary, they look like out of the box. Boys are the same. I've seen here many crazy hair styles...hehehhe..and I met people that go to the hairdresses almost every morning before going to work (at least some of my fellow teachers here do). Another WRONG thing: even if alcohol and porc meat are forbidden in Islam, I met people that were drinking more than me in my worst days and eating porc like there's no tomorrow.
Then..about the 5 times praying..well..that's on each person's choice. I was surprised to see that young people aren't praying. It looks like the only sign of respect is putting off the volume of music or tv. Maybe I am wrong, maybe my impressions aren't showing the reality because I was in a city that
Party indoorsParty indoorsParty indoors

let the music play...
is famous for its youth. Actually it's quite true, because I got to see some "pieces of real life" a few weeks later.
Some other cultural shocks: (funny ones) one can't drink the water from the tap, so each apartment has to oder water (20L bottles) from some company that in this city was called "Kalabak". So each morning I was waking up by a woman-like voice screaming "Kalabaaak suuuu" ("su" means "water" in Turkish). It was the same with the mane from the mosque called "Imam" when he was doing the morning call. But in 1 month I didn't hear them anymore. heheh..yes...it took some time. Then..other thing..the garbage. When I came there was no dumbster and I was curious where the people are throwing the garbage. But is ok...just put it at the door and the doorman in charge of the whole building will take care of it. hahahha

small things look unimportant..but when you look for the second time - you can see it better...it is very important, especially when you want to know more about a culture different from yours..


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

After partyAfter party
After party

..it's Umut's turn to wash the dishes


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb